The LC2 Lace Carriage

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to The LC2 Lace Carriage

  1. Jayne says:

    Thank you, I enjoyed this.

  2. Yvonne says:

    Thanks for video Susan.I have sent my lace carriage to the repair man and I look forward very much to using it when I am back in March.
    I really like the feel of the Knitmaster machine. It runs so smoothly and isn t complicated
    (until something goes wrong!!).Bye for now.

  3. Pat says:

    Thank you, your tutorials are so inspiring

  4. Maureen says:

    Thank you so very much Suzy. I think I may have isolated where I went wrong from your video. Firstly, I didn’t know the yarn had to click into the yarn feeder. I may or may not have had it ‘clicked’ when I tried to use mine.

    Secondly, I didn’t do the cast on with the LC2, I knitted some regular knitting then changed to the LC2. I didn’t do as many stockinette rows as I should have and then I knitted a couple of rows with the LC2 on ‘0’ tension. I should have done many rows after that at the proper tension before trying to use the LC2, instead I started the lace knitting with the punchcard straight away after I changed the tension so it started off on very tight knitting.

    I am hoping these were my problems. I am waiting for my replacement needles to arrive, they are coming from Hong Kong and they usually take about two weeks to get here.

    I have downloaded your video as I am going to view it many times so I do not miss anything.

    And, finally, I want to thank you again because I know know I have clips at either end of the needle bed. I have been using my machine for nearly three years and hadn’t noticed them.

    Wow, as I was writing this my needles arrived. Off to put them in.

    Will let you know how it goes.

    Thanks, again.

  5. Maureen says:

    I tried my LC2 again and I thought it was going to work fine but I still had problems. I could see that the sinker plate was bending the latches. When I took the sinker plate off I could see that two of the parts which should be set the same each side were different but I don’t know which side is correct. Could you take a photo of each side of the underside of the sinker plate and one of the whole underside and post them on here please. Sorry to be such a pest. I was so happy to see your video then so disappointed when it still didn’t work. I know now how I should be doing it thanks to you, now I just need to get the carriage right.

    • susyranner says:

      Is your sponge bar alright? The lace carriage is very particular about the sponge bar. I had to swap mine over when I made the video even though the one I had in works fine the rest of the time. I changed it for the one in my rarely used KM700.
      Here are the photos you asked for:

       photo SinkerPlate_zps39ffc98b.jpg

       photo SinkerPlate2_zpsa4e5449f.jpg

       photo SinkerPlate3_zps0a3e369f.jpg

      Good luck, I hope you can get it working.

      • Maureen says:

        Hi again Suzy. Thanks again for your help. I can see which side on mine is correct now and I will try and set the other side the same way. I took your photo and put an arrow on it so I could show you where mine had gone wrong but I couldn’t get the photo in this comment. I will be blogging about all this on my blog soon so I will put it up there. If you have been reading it you will know I have been trying forever to get this lace carriage working. They say persistence is a virtue although I am sure my husband would not agree lol. I have learned a lot though and it is good for an old lady like me to keep my brain active.

        First of all I have to replace the needles I bent the latches on yesterday. Not so many this time, the first time I bent all 70! I was able to save some of them using a pair of needle nose pliers. I will keep those needles as spares. I replaced them all yesterday with the with the new ones that arrived in yesterday’s mail and today (hopefully) I will replace those that I bent afterwards with more new ones.

        It was weird as it only started going wrong on the lace knitting, it did the stockinette just fine.

        I put in a brand new sponge bar so that isn’t the problem. I had read that using a lace carriage needed a good one so I replaced mine even though it was still OK, just to be on the safe side.

        I will keep on trying.

        In hindsight, it probably would have been much easier and cheaper to have bought a brand new one.

        Once again, thank you and I will let you know how it goes.

  6. Maureen says:

    Hi again, I managed a little time on the machine today before we had to go out. I replaced the needles I bent the latches on yesterday. I had adjusted the underside of the sinker plate that had gone awry. With great trepidation I tried it again. This time I just used 40 needles. It worked!!!!

    I went very slowly, I checked every row for anything that looked wrong before doing the next. I pushed back the little orange things every row as I noticed they sneak forward a little every row and I was careful to keep moving the weights.

    I also used a different punch-card just in case there might have been something wrong with the one I had used before.

    It did only partly do one hole but overall, compared to previous attempts, it was a monumental success.

    I will update my blog in the next day or so and put up pictures.

    I couldn’t have done it Suzy without your video and photos. A big thank you.

    • susyranner says:

      I am so pleased to hear this, Maureen. I was beginning to think that your lace carriage was never going to work. I’m keeping my fingers crossed for you that it carries on working and doesn’t change it’s mind but from the sound of it you’ve got it sorted now.

  7. Maureen says:

    I was so excited, I came running downstairs with my knitted piece to show my husband. He burst out laughing, in a good natured way and said “You mean to say you have spent all this time, money and effort to get holes in your knitting”. He thought it was hilarious. I was just darned thrilled.

    • susyranner says:

      that’s exactly the sort of thing Billy would have said to me. They just don’t understand, do they? We won’t let these machines beat us!

      • Maureen says:

        That’s right lol. I really don’t have anything I want to knit in lace right now, it was just a challenge to make it work. I will be using it though to knit something for my grand daughter in the Spring. For now, I have to get on and make the sweater on the SK155 that I have been promising my husband.

  8. Jewel says:

    Thank you, you get in close detail.. I think we all appreciate that!

    • susyranner says:

      It can be a bit awkward trying to work with the tripod in the way but I do try to show as much as I can.

      • Jewel says:

        Double thank you then, as I wondered how you get such great shots. You are one of the few people I have been able to find who also will work with a Silver Reed. It is hugely appreciated. Thank you again!

  9. Floyd says:

    I see I am not the only that has had trouble with the lc2 lace carriage on the right cam the little tab was broken when i received it . have had no satisfaction from where i bought it . I did better buying a used mach. from e-bay .

  10. Davetta Stocker says:

    I am having an issue with the yarn staying in the yarn feeder. When I put the yarn. Into the feeder ther is no click. What makes the click.

    • susyranner says:

      Behind the slot where you put your yarn is a little wire, the click is what you hear when the yarn goes behind the wire.

Comments are closed.