‘Magic Aran’ Jumper

I spent the last of the money I received for my birthday in December on two 250g balls of Magic Aran, which is a self patterning acrylic. I found it at Poundstretcher in the town. I didn’t know what the pattern was going to come out like but was pleasantly surprised as I watched it emerge. I think it looks like rows of little pink flowers:

'Magic Aran' Jumper

 

I decided to do a cut and sew neckline as I didn’t want to spoil the pattern by knitting one side at a time. Luckily I didn’t mess it up, if I had I don’t think I would have had enough yarn left to re-knit that section.

Cut And Sew Neck

 

I am really happy with the neckline. I don’t often do cut and sew and this time I did it differently. While I was knitting it I threaded some red yarn through the stitches that would have been cast off if I’d been knitting it the normal way. This marked exactly where the neckline was. I zig zag stitched directly onto this red yarn with the sewing machine then cut away the unwanted bit of knitting. After joining one of the shoulders I hung the front and back onto the knitting machine with the wrong side facing me, as you would usually do. This part could have gone wrong if my zig zag stitches had snapped as it was them that were stopping the work from unravelling. But everything was fine and I knitted the neckband to twice the length I needed and converted it to rib, knitted a row of stocking stitch and took it off on waste yarn. Then I folded the neckband in half to the inside and sewed it down.

Normally I would have knitted the neckband seperately then joined it onto the jumper using the Hague linker, folding it to the outside rather than the inside but as this was aran weight yarn I thought it might be too thick for the Hague linker.

You cant see any sign of the red marker yarn showing through apart from a tiny piece at one of the shoulder seams but if you didn’t know it was there you would never notice it so it doesn’t matter.

I knitted this jumper on the Bond using keyplate 3. The pattern was created using Knitware.

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to ‘Magic Aran’ Jumper

  1. Maddy says:

    That is just about the prettiest sweater I have seen in quite awhile, well done Susy!

  2. Judy K says:

    Very nice. I am really impressed with the neck line. Thanks for the hints with cut and sew. I never would have thought of threading the red yarn where the cast off would be. You are a genius!

    • susyranner says:

      Nah, I’m not a genius, I just think it’s an easier way of marking the neckline rather than using templates or guessing!

  3. Carol Ann Emerick says:

    Beautiful Susy. Thank you so much for sharing your technique.

  4. Margaret Cummings says:

    A really nice jumper ~ I wondered how the Poundland yarn would cope on a knitting machine !

    • susyranner says:

      This was from Poundstretcher, a bit more expensive than Poundland at £3.99 for a 250g ball but I have knitted the Poundland DK on the machine without any problems.

      Edit: I meant Poundworld, not Poundland.

  5. Joan says:

    I really, really like this sweater. You did an outstanding job with the cut and sew and the yarn is delightful
    Joan

  6. Lela says:

    What a beautiful sweater! Your neckline is excellent, too. You are certainly very skilled. Thank you for the details on how you did the neckline. I have always been a little afraid of cut and sew necklines. I might give them another try, using your notes. Thank you for sharing!

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks, Lela. I still feel a little nervous when I’m starting to cut but in the grand scheme of things, what’s the worst that can happen? It’s only a jumper, it’s not the end of the world if it goes wrong, is it?

  7. Maureen says:

    That is an amazing sweater. So pretty. I have never heard of that yarn but it certainly knits up nicely. Great job on the cut and sew neckline.

  8. anne says:

    Hi Susy, It’s a really lovely jumper. I can see a big run on the wool supplies at Poundstretcher and Poundland for that matter. I did not realised that they sold yarn, I will have a look when I am next in town. Kindest regards
    Anne

    • susyranner says:

      I got it wrong, I should have said Poundworld, not Poundland. I can’t say I’ve seen yarn at Poundland, I’ll have a look myself sometime.

  9. Annette says:

    Hi Susy. Really like your jumper and the neckline is soooo neat. Excellent job! Hope you had a great Christmas and Happy new year too.
    Regards Annette.

  10. Jane says:

    That looks great Susy – Well done 🙂

  11. Tanya says:

    Wonderful job, Susy. The neck turned out so well! Thanks for your photos and wonderful notes. I especially appreciate how you embody how true it is that there are many, many ways to get to the same end – whatever works well is good! This is good;-)

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks, Tanya. I didn’t know if this neck was going to work the way I did it but I thought what the heck and tried it anyway!

  12. yvonne says:

    Lovely Susan.I am going to check to see if you have a video for the cut and sew neckline.
    The way you explain it with the red yarn seems appealing to me. I may give it a whirl for a try- out tomorrow!! I haven t got a sewing machine but maybe I could catch the stitches by hand.

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks, Yvonne. I did it a different way in the video, I should really re-watch that video – it’s so long since I made it that I can’t remember exactly what I did in it!

  13. yvonne says:

    Found the video!

  14. Anita Nicholls says:

    Hi suz, looks great. My machine is a passap and very unforgiving. Yours always look good. Anita

  15. Carol Muller says:

    What a beautiful sweater! I really love how you did the cut and sew neckline…what a great idea!

  16. Lynn says:

    Nice job on the neck!

  17. David Bryce says:

    Hi,

    I have knitted this jumper in Aran magic yarn an it hasn’t knitted the same as yours. .. I’m nearly finished the last sleeve then I have to do the neck that’s the bit I hate about jumpers.

    • susyranner says:

      I don’t really like doing the neckbands either, sometimes they turn out alright, sometimes they don’t.

      • David Bryce says:

        Hi, thanks for the reply. I have finished my jumper an I have 4 peices now. Front/back an two sleeves. I am stuck with the pattern to do neck band. Not sure if I can upload a picture

        • susyranner says:

          Join one of the shoulder seams then pull out as many needles as you need to knit the neckband and hang the work onto the needles with the wrong side facing you. Knit one row then transfer every second stitch to the ribber and knit as many rows as you need. If you’re not using a ribber just knit the required number of rows then ladder down every second stitch and reform to make ribbing. Then cast off.

Comments are closed.