4ply Socks On The Knitmaster 4500

Socks

 

This is just a pair of plain, boring grey socks that I knitted on the vintage Knitmaster 4500 with a Ribmaster attachment to do the ribbing.

This is the pattern I used which is one I put together using bits from various other patterns that I found in Modern Knitting magazines. I never check the tension when I’m knitting socks as I’ve found that the 4ply yarns I’ve used in the past usually knit up more or less the same. I don’t think I’ve knitted any socks using this pattern that haven’t fitted me.

The pattern is written for just one size which is 9½ inches from the back of the heel to the toe, or a size 6UK.

It takes roughly 50g of 4ply to knit the pair.

With the Knitmaster set on T5 and the Ribmaster set on T7, cast on 55 sts and knit 26 rows 1×1 rib.

Transfer all sts to the Knitmaster and change to T6.

Knit 40 rows, increasing 1 stitch at the beginning of the first row.

Put 14 sts at each side onto waste yarn and continue on the centre stitches only.

Knit 52 rows.

Toe- change to T5

Place 1 needle into HP at the side opposite to the carriage for the next 20 rows, wrapping the yarn around the first HP needle to avoid holes forming.

Place one needle back into WP at the side opposite the carriage for the next 20 rows, wrapping the needles as before.

Sole- change to T6

Knit 52 rows (you can seam-as-you-go here if you wish)

Heel-change to T5 and work as for toe.

Fold the work that is on waste yarn towards the centre and place the stitches back onto the needles. Remove the waste yarn and knit the stitches you’ve just put back on through the stitches that were already on the needles, thus joining the base of the ankle to the top of the heel.

Cast off.

Alternatively you can knit a few rows of waste yarn after your last row of knitting and take it off the machine to graft the ankle to the heel using kitchener stitch or your preferred method.

Join the back seam and the side seams if necessary.

 

I made a video showing how I knitted the sock which includes how I did the seam as you go. It’s a little long at around 26 minutes but I hope you find it useful.

 

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to 4ply Socks On The Knitmaster 4500

  1. Angelika says:

    Thanks ever so much for this. I have a similar machine which is about 60 years old and have have just started trying to master it. Having been a hand knitter only, it is quite a challenge.
    Angelika

    • susyranner says:

      You’re welcome, Angelika. You will find socks really easy to knit on this machine as you don’t have to keep moving weights up when you’re shaping the heels and toes.

  2. tildama says:

    You are a fantastic teacher Susan, I can understand everything you do! You don’t know how wonderful it feels to be able to achieve things after watching your videos and following your instructions. Thank you. I can’t wait to try these socks now.

    • susyranner says:

      Thank you tildama. I do sometimes wonder if I explain things clearly enough. I sometimes get my words mixed up and don’t realise until I’m editing the video, by which time it’s too late so I have to leave the wrong words in!

  3. Pingback: https://myknittingmachinesandme.wordpress.com/2014/01/22/4ply-socks-on-the-knitmaster-4500/ | dianag1968

  4. Pingback: 4ply Socks | dianag1968

  5. Linda in TX says:

    Susan, I have a Remac Regina, which seems to be basically the same machine. Thanks for doing some videos with your 4500, it really helps to see the technique. I’m wondering, however, how you keep the machine “tied down”, as there is no way to clamp it, that I can find. I have 2 big C clamps which I have at each end, which keeps it (mostly) from sliding side to side, but it tends to go backwards, then it’s out of reach of the clamps. Is there some way to stabilize the machine, on the table? Thanks, again, for the great videos…especially the close-ups! I have a terrible time with sew-as-you-go.

    • susyranner says:

      I don’t have the machine secured at all, it has rubber feet that keep it in place most of the time

      Knitmaster 4500 rubber foot photo Knitmaster4500rubberfoot_zpsabc240aa.jpg

      You could try some rubber matting, I think it’s called router matting, that stops things from slipping about on smooth surfaces. Not sure where you’d get it, maybe DIY stores or power tool suppliers?

  6. anne says:

    Hi it’s amazing how these old machines still manage to produce such good looking knitting. Do you know what gauge the 4500 is, as it looks like something between a standard and bulky?

    • susyranner says:

      It’s closer to a standard gauge. I measured the distance between needles and I got 5mm.

      • Linda in TX says:

        The 5 mm is what Passap is, I think. I use my Passap tools on my Remac Regina, which seems to be basically the same machine, only there’s no ribber, as far as I know.

        • susyranner says:

          I’ve never heard of a Remac Regina, I’ll have to Google it.

          • Linda in TX says:

            I really had a hard time even finding out what it was, but finally found someone, in England, I think, who has one.

            • susyranner says:

              I just did a quick Google and found a couple, one was a Princess model on ebay – the listing said it was Austrian. Not sure what the other model was but it was a nice looking machine, lovely colour. I agree it does look to be more or less the same basic machine as the KM4500.

              • Linda in TX says:

                Yes, the Princess, I think is what I have, but there’s only one label and it just says “Remac”. I got it from a girlfriend. It was her Mom’s. It’s pretty rough, but it works. It’s so different from my Passaps and Jap machines, so it’s kind of fun to play with.

                • susyranner says:

                  If it works the same as the KM4500 it will be a really easy machine to use.

                  • Linda in TX says:

                    It is easy to use, you just have to get used to laying the yarn, instead of having a tension pole. It’s a little stiffer, too,. I can’t decide if it’s the needles or the sinkers, or a combination of the two. I had to replace some needles, too, and found that the Passap needles work, but are a hair shorter. Wish I knew where to get some replacement needles, at a reasonable price.

                • I have a machine that says only remac i found in a basement yesterday. I do not know if it is all there or if i need other things to make it work. I will go ahead and throw it out if it is not all here please help woodmanseejamie@gmail.com i do know this lady would have never kept anything broken or not all there

  7. viliene says:

    Right you are, two are better than one..
    I started in December with an old but never used KnitKing from 1957 and now I have 6 (SIX) machines all found in the local ads on ebay and for very little money. They seem to have grown on me. I think I will repair one of them, make one out of two ,and resell it. Daughter wants one of the spare ones two. Here they are called Knittax and I stopped with the 70s model which does weaving as well. I got some magazines for them as well which are quite useful for a beginner. I like it that I can repair them myself. I’ve almost finished the first jumper for my daughter. So much fun after I got the knack of it. Next will be Susan’s socks.

    • Linda in TX says:

      I have 8 machines, but the Regina is the only antique one. I have 3 Passaps, 2 Brothers and 2 Singers, and the Remac Regina (maybe circa 1067, from something off the manual.

      • viliene says:

        So I still have some room to manoeuvre if want an electronic one. But so far I don’t dare, they look so complicated to handle. And I am not sure how sturdy they are. May be in a couple of years…

        • Linda in TX says:

          Vilene, I got an awesome deal on my Passap E6000 (electronic). It’s the only electronic I have. As for how many machines, Anne Croucher, I think it is, in England has over 50, I think! I think we are only limited by space, and I keep getting bigger houses. LOL

  8. Virginia says:

    Thank you so much, again and again and again for all the information you provide on knitting with the older machines from the 1950s. I just purchased my dream machine: MIRACLE KNITTER JUNIOR for the express purpose of making socks on it. It is so small that you can set it up on any table and just put it away again. It came in a cardboard box, but I have seen one in a suitcase type container. Now I see how I can do short-rowing for the socks. This information is PRICELESS for me. I thank you again and again and again.!!!

    • susyranner says:

      You’re welcome, Virginia. That sounds like a nifty little machine, you’ve made me want one now!

  9. Sarah says:

    Thanks. If it weren’t for you taking the time to make these videos I don’t know how I’d learn. Been hand knitting for years but socks are just too time consuming

  10. Morag Walker says:

    Hi Susy The socks video was brilliant. Thank you – must go I’ll have to try them NOW or I will forget what you said!! Best wishes MoragW

  11. Terry Maffitt says:

    Thank you for sharing your knowledge. I recently acquired a Studio 740 standard gauge. I made a circular sock this morning after several starts and stops because of dropped stitches. I found out the value of having a multitude of weights. I will definitely try this pattern.

Comments are closed.