3 Ply / 4 Ply Gloves

Gloves

 

These were knitted  on the Knitmaster 4500 in 4 ply from an old 50s or 60s Knitmaster pattern. The pattern is written for 3 ply or 4 ply, the 3 ply gloves for women and the 4 ply gloves for men but I don’t see why you couldn’t make the women’s gloves with 4ply, following the 3 ply instructions.

My ribbing was done using the Ribmaster so is a 1×1 rib rather than 2×1 as in the instructions which are given for the main bed with reformed stitches.

The fingers are knitted as a long strip with short row shaping for the tops, both side seams sewn up at the end. I did them sew as you go and they came out alright though they were a bit fiddly to do. I also did the long seam at the opposite side to the thumb as sew as you go which meant the only sewing up I had to do at the end was the rib seam, thumb seam and sewing in the thumb.

My first attempt at knitting one of the gloves went wrong as I mis-read the pattern and ended up casting off for the base of the thumb at the wrong side and didn’t realise until I had knitted three fingers and didn’t have enough stitches for the fourth.

Here are the instructions, click on the photo to see a larger version:

gloves

 

This entry was posted in machine knitting, Patterns. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to 3 Ply / 4 Ply Gloves

  1. picperfic says:

    Oh thank you for this…looks like a fun but diddly pattern 🙂

  2. yvonne says:

    Good pattern Susan.Thanks.

  3. They came out great! Thanks for sharing the pattern too 🙂

  4. Maureen says:

    Thanks for posting the pattern on here. Another thing for me to try when the time is right. When I was in Primary school I knitted a pair of gloves by hand. I was very proud of them. I want to knit socks and gloves on the machine one day. Meanwhile I have started a hand knitting project for a short sleeved cardigan for my grand daughter.

    • susyranner says:

      I have to say socks are much easier to knit than gloves, all those fingers are a bit fiddly to do.

Comments are closed.