Short Sleeved Top

Blue Top

 

I knitted this on the Knitmaster 302 from a cone of Bramwell Celebration 25 that I bought from Ebay. The yarn is 92% acrylic, 8% nylon and it’s like string. When it was first knitted up the fabric felt a bit stiff and didn’t drape very well. After washing it improved but I’m still not that happy with it. I have a feeling it’s going to be one of those things that gets bigger the longer you wear it and you know how annoying they can be.

The pattern is from one of the pattern cards included with the 302. It’s a tuck stitch, tucking every second stitch for one row, then one row plain, then tucking the same stitches the following row and so on – at least I think that’s what it is, I haven’t quite figured out exactly what the different pattern dials do on that machine. I could have used the purl side as the right side but thought the plain side looked better.

Here’s a close up of the pattern:

Tuck Stitch Pattern

 

I might try very lightly steaming it but I’m a bit reluctant to in case I go over the top and kill it completely.

I am quite disappointed with this top as it didn’t turn out the way I’d hoped it would. Never mind.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Short Sleeved Top

  1. Maureen says:

    Suzy, I think it’s lovely. In my limited experience with that type of yarn I found that pressing stretched the knitting. This was great when I made my scarves but for clothing I just wash it and tumble dry it and it goes back to it’s original shape.

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks, Maureen. I was just going to hover the iron over it and give short blasts of steam, not actually press it but that might still be enough to ruin it so maybe I won’t.

  2. landofoznsw says:

    I also think its lovely don’t steam just leave until you wash it.

    • susyranner says:

      Yeah, I think maybe I should do that. I was just trying to think of a way to make it slightly more drapey but maybe the steam would be too much.

  3. Linda in TX says:

    I like this, too, but I don’t have to wear it. I would love to have the sweater pattern, and could you post a picture of the punch card? Did 1 lb do it? Thanks!

    • susyranner says:

      It wasn’t knitted on a punchcard machine, the 302 does the patterning by turning each of the three pattern dials to a certain position and I haven’t quite figured out how to convert that to a punchcard. I’ll maybe have a play on the SK280 some time and see if I can replicate it.

      • Linda in TX says:

        Interesting! I need to play with my Regina, more. I got an order for hand-knit baby blankets and a shawl, so going like crazy on them. When done, I’m going to write the pattern/punch cards/whatever so I can do them on the machine, from now on. Never expected to get orders for something I just “had to try”. 😉

        • susyranner says:

          Had a quick play on the SK280. You can use punchcard 1 locked on row 1. Knit from right to left with the carriage set to tuck then knit from left to right with the carriage set to stockinette.
          You could make a punchcard for it by punching holes 1,3,5,7,9 etc all along the row. Leave the next row un-punched, then punch the third row the same as the first (1,3,5,7,9 etc), fourth row un-punched. Carry on like this for the length of the card.

  4. anne says:

    Hi Susy the jumper looks really good and I think it has turned out welll. Why not try washing it in ‘Woolite’ or some other washing liquid suitable for woollens or delicates. I have found that leaving an item to soak for a while, then rinsing in warm water with conditioner works makes it more wearable. KIndest regards Anne

  5. Heather says:

    You probably know this already but I heard somewhere that yarn on cones made for machine knitting is stiff because there is a coating on it to make it easier to knit and not gum up the machine. It is suppose to wash out. Try washing it again or look to see if there is special instructions for machine yarn.

    • susyranner says:

      I’ve washed it twice now, the first time at 30C and the second time at 40C. The label recommends no higher than 40C – it feels the same after the second was as it did after the first. I’ll see what it’s like after I’ve done what Anne suggested, maybe it’s just the nature of the yarn and that’s the way it’s supposed to be.

  6. Lela says:

    It’s very nice and I love the color and pattern! I’d be cautious too about steaming it – I did that once to a sweater and it was never the same again. Unfortunately it stretches and stretches now and hangs lifelessly. I’m betting your sweater top will drape better and better the more it is worn and washed. The neckline is wonderful! How did you stay in the pattern all the way up? Was it cut and sew or knitted all the way up? (Necklines are my challenge for this year – I have yet to do one that looks as nice!)

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks Lela, I think you’re probably right about it getting better the more it is worn and washed. I didn’t do a cut and sew neck this time, just knitted one side then went back and knitted the other then re-hung it with the wrong side facing me, knitted the neckband and took it off onto waste yarn. Then I folded it to the inside and sewed it down. I used to struggle to get my necklines to look neat but then something obviously clicked into place (maybe it was just a lot of practice) and most of the time now they end up looking OK.

  7. Carol Ann Emerick says:

    Steaming might very well help. If you still have your gauge swatch, you could try steaming that first.

    • susyranner says:

      It’s just that I know how heavy handed I can be and how easy it would be to overdo it and ruin it. I might have a go at the swatch and see how much of a difference it makes.

  8. Morag Walker says:

    Hi Susy I also think it is lovely, nice pattern and colour. Did you wash it yet?

    • susyranner says:

      I’ve washed it twice which has improved it slightly but not much. I think as others have said that it will get better the more it’s worn and washed.

  9. lilou79 says:

    It looks lovely so I hope you find a way to enjoy wearing it. As mentioned, the neckline looks very professional. Did you do the ribs on the 302?

    • susyranner says:

      I did do the ribs on the 302, I was going to do proper ribbing using the ribber but decided to do folded bands instead.

  10. martha says:

    If I could knit like that I would be so happy. martht

  11. Sherry says:

    I love that you are willing to post items that to you have not turned out as well as you’d like, because I do that a lot and it doesn’t feel so bad when I see an expert willing to share . We all learn from each other by doing things that don’t always turn out… And sometimes, there are haopy acidents too, that tuen out grest! However, in looking at this , I see nothing wrong with it… But I know how you feel.

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks, Sherry. It looks fine on the dummy but on me it doesn’t look or feel right. Never mind, better luck next time!

  12. Judy Buffalohead says:

    Gosh. You did such a beautiful job. I wonder if some fabric softener in the rinse cycle would help

Comments are closed.