Another Slashed Neck Jumper

Slashed Neck Jumper

I knitted this using the same Knit Radar sheet I used for the last slashed neck jumper I made only this time instead of the tuck stitch panel I did some contrasting stripes. I wouldn’t have quite had enough pink wool to knit it all in pink so used some left over purple that I had for the stripes.

I do like these slashed necked jumpers as they are quick and easy to knit but they do tend to be bulky under the arms. Do you think I would be better off knitting them with a modified drop armhole?

This is Knitware’s schematic for a modified drop:

modified drop

I’ve been knitting straight from the bottom to the top then joining the shoulders, hanging it back onto the machine to knit the sleeves from the top to the cuff, starting the shaping straight away.

Do you think the modified drop would reduce the bulk under the arms?

I know I could do them with a set in sleeve but I don’t really want them to be as fitted as that.

What do you think?

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Another Slashed Neck Jumper

  1. Morag Walker says:

    Hi Susy I really like these jumpers but yes that would reduce the bulk. It would be nice to have a change. What tension did you do? Best wishes

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks, Morag.
      I used tension 7. The pink wool is Hayfield Pure Wool Classics 4 ply and the purple is a wool crepe 4 ply, don’t know which brand.

  2. mathom says:

    Another lovely sweater. Good work.

    I’ve not yet made a sweater with the modified drop sleeve and have the same question as you. I see you use Knitwear but do you know if there is some sort of rule for how far in to set the modified drop?

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks, mathom.

      I’ve never tried a modified drop either and I’ve no idea if there’s a rule for how far in to set it. I’ve just created a pattern in Knitware for a modified drop butted boat neck jumper using the tension readings for the pink jumper and have created a Knit Radar sheet from the Knitware pattern. I’ll use up some part cones to make a jumper using this sheet, just to see how much difference it makes.

      • mathom says:

        Oh, now you’ve really piqued my interest. How do you go about creating the Knit Radar sheet from the Knitware pattern? Do you just transfer the dimensions as given in the pattern or do you have some more direct way of using the Knitware schematics?

        I’ve not had my Studio 360 for long and it came to me without any pattern sheets so I’m very keen on figuring out how best to do this.

  3. Maureen says:

    pretty colours Suzy. It looks great to me but you know if it feels bulky. Look forward to seeing your next one with the modifications.

  4. Virginia says:

    Susy, You do such beautiful work and I love the colors that you used in making this sweater! The stripes made it even prettier than a solid would have been.

Comments are closed.