One More Slashed Neck Jumper

This is the last one, I promise (until I decide to knit another one).

image

image

image

I knitted this on the Bond using DK leftovers, the ribbing was done using the Bond Ribber.

The pattern I used is for the jumper shown on the front cover of issue 5 of the Bond Magazine. I didn’t check the tension as I didn’t think there would be much point with me using so many different yarns, I just followed the pattern as written and hoped for the best.

It could have done with being about an inch or so longer but I’m not too concerned about that, it’s not as if I’ll be wearing it for best, it’s another one for knocking about the house in.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in Misc. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to One More Slashed Neck Jumper

  1. Carol Ann Emerick says:

    I love to see your sweaters. This one is beautiful.

  2. Maureen says:

    That is amazing Suzy, love it, love it, love it!

  3. Audrey says:

    Love the colours in this one. very pretty

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks, Audrey. They were just leftovers so I tried to arrange the stripes so that the colours wouldn’t clash too much.

  4. yvonne says:

    Really pretty Susan.Like the intarsia bit(I think it is intarsia) as it breaks up the stripes nicely.You haven t shown us the back…;-)

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks, Yvonne, the back’s the same as the front so I didn’t bother taking a photo of it.

  5. tildama says:

    Fabulous – once again Susan. It just shows, as you have proved with this jumper, that you can create interest and impact with your knitting projects, using simple stocking stitch and a simple pattern. Thank you.

  6. leenrue says:

    I love your sweater and the color is what realy makes it pop to the eye I would wear this for any time not just at home I love it. Mary

  7. tildama says:

    By the way Susan, I forgot to mention, those Bond magazines you have made available here are a great resource. I have a Brother KH230 (and ribber) which is a basic bulky, so the Bond patterns suit my machine. But what I find so very helpful are the knitting tips and hints on techniques. I love them, so thank you so very much for providing those as well.

    • susyranner says:

      You’re welcome. I know some of the patterns in the magazines are a bit dated but I agree the hints and tips are useful.

  8. Tammy says:

    Great use of colour – very groovy! I’m always inspired when I come to your site.

  9. lilou79 says:

    You are so prolific! Do you know how many jumpers you have? Would you recommend the slash neck patterns for near beginners, assuming they’ve mastered the ribber? Thank you for the inspiration.

    • susyranner says:

      I daren’t count how many jumpers I have! I would definitely recommend the slash neck for beginners as there is very little shaping, only on the sleeves. I would think that once they’ve knitted that it would give them the confidence to try something with more shaping – set in sleeves, shaped neckline etc.

  10. Jewel says:

    Wonderful, how did you get the colour brown to taper like you have?

    • susyranner says:

      I followed the chart in the Bond magazine. I should have done it as intarsia but I did it by putting needles into holding position and of course must have done something wrong as it ended up looking not quite as it should have.

  11. Else says:

    I think it’s daring

  12. Sheryl says:

    Susan, your sweaters are so beautiful. The more I see, the more I love them. Your blog was the first blog I started following several years ago, & is still one of the best. I always enjoy coming here to see what you have made. 🙂

  13. mathom says:

    Great work as usual! You make it look so easy to just throw some scraps together and get a good looking sweater. I’m sure that if I did that it would come out looking like… scraps.

    • susyranner says:

      I’m sure it would look fine and anyway, who cares what it looks like as long as it keeps you warm in the winter.

Comments are closed.