Short Sleeved Round Yoke Top

Round Yoke Jumper Front

Round Yoke Jumper Back

 

I created a Knit Radar sheet from this pattern which is from the July 1974 issue of Modern Knitting.

I knitted it straight from the bottom to the armholes rather than shaping it in at the waist as in the original pattern.

The wool is all reclaimed, it’s from jumpers I’d previously knitted then pulled out because I didn’t wear them.

I had a bit of trouble sewing the sleeves into place as the sleeve edges were a bit shorter than the edges I was sewing them to on the front and back so I thought I’d made a mistake when I was transferring the pattern to the Knit Radar sheet but after checking it I found it was correct. I’m wondering if there was a mistake in the original pattern. I did manage to get it to look OK after fiddling with the seams a bit but I’m sure I shouldn’t have had to.

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Short Sleeved Round Yoke Top

  1. mathom says:

    Another great looking top. I like the round yoke in the contrasting color. I guess I’ll have to put a round yoke sweater on my “to knit” list.

    • mathom says:

      P.S. I just had a look at the original pattern and I have to say I like yours better. Much nicer colors.

      • susyranner says:

        Thank you, it’s just wool that I re-claimed. If I’d been buying new I would have probably gone for purples or lilacs rather than the beige of the original in the magazine.

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks, mathom.

  2. Sandra says:

    Oh Susy this is soooo pretty, Love the color combination, three thumbs up 🙂

  3. anne says:

    Wonderful jumper, and I agree your colours are much nicer.

  4. Dainami says:

    Oh wow, beautiful!

  5. It’s gorgeous – I’ve never made anything on the machine with a round yoke. Is the yoke made in the round with the ribber?

  6. Morag Walker says:

    This is another gorgeous top. Best wishes Morag W

  7. tildama says:

    Wow!! That gorgeous Susan.

  8. Marney says:

    I like it wish I had the Pattern

    Marney

    • susyranner says:

      I’ve put a link to the original pattern in the post, you would just have to adapt it to the colours you want. You can ignore the punchcard pattern and just do the yoke plain like I did.

  9. kc says:

    Splendid, another great skill to learn. I was unaware that a round yolk could be produced on machines. Were short rows used to achieve this shape? Great job, btw!

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks, kc. I didn’t use short rowing, I knitted so many rows, took it off onto waste yarn then replaced it onto fewer needles, knitted so many rows then took it off onto waste yarn again and continued in this way until the required number of stitches remained.

Comments are closed.