Cap Sleeved Top Made From Leftovers

Cap Sleeved Top

I just wanted to knit something simple to use up the leftovers so created the pattern for this cap sleeved top using Knitware.

It was originally going to be all over horizontal stripes but I changed my mind and decided to give the intarsia carriage an airing and came up with this instead. The intarsia carriage rarely sees the light of day so I thought it was about time it did some work.

I knitted the back first then joined the front as I knitted it using the sew as you go method as far as the armhole shaping. The more I do sew as you go, the more I like it. I loathe and detest sewing things up, even with the Hague linker, so anything that saves me having to do that is good as far as I’m concerned. I joined the shoulders on the knitting machine so the only sewing up I had to was the edges of all the ribbed parts – waist, neckline and armbands.

My transfer carriage has decided it doesn’t want to play anymore and now drops more stitches than it transfers so I have been getting some practice in at transferring stitches with the shadow lace tool. It is a lot quicker than using the double ended bodkin as it can transfer 20 stitches at a time. Well, most of the time it’s quicker until you get a bit cocky and try to do it too fast and open it’s jaws before you’ve flipped the stitches to the other side and they fall off. No new swear words were invented but a lot of old ones were revived.

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Cap Sleeved Top Made From Leftovers

  1. Heike, Tatamagouche says:

    Thank you for sharing. It is a beautiful sweater. You did a great job

  2. Irene Eagleton says:

    That’s a really nice summer top. Thanks for showing. Never seen a shadow lace tool. What is it?

  3. That shadow lace looks interesting. I am going to sew a cap sleeved top or dress very soon.

  4. Irene Eagleton says:

    Wow that looks impressive! I’ll have to look at Diana’s video.
    Thanks Susy.

  5. Oh, that is fabulous! I am so intimidated to try something like this, I don’t know where to start. I need in-person lessons!

    • susyranner says:

      Don’t be intimidated, just go for it – the worst that can happen is that you might have to pull it out and start again if it goes wrong. Knitting it plain or with just horizontal stripes is easy. If you have an intarsia carriage the colour changes are easy, especially as you’re only using two colours in each row.

  6. Ellen says:

    Have you made a vedio on sew as you go. The ones I have seen seem to leave a lot of holes.

  7. yvonne says:

    Love the sweater Susan.The pattern looks really good.
    Shadow lace is interesting too.
    Thanks
    Yvonne

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks, Yvonne. I think I’ll have another go at the shadow lace, I can’t even remember how it’s done.

  8. Sherry says:

    Another beautiful sweater! Thanks again for sharing!

  9. Margaret CUMMINGS ~ DONINGTON (Lincolnshire) M.K,. Club says:

    As usual you have produced a great jumper and out of oddments ! Duri9ng this hot weather I can’t get motivated !

    • susyranner says:

      I know how you feel, Margaret. Who wants to think about jumpers when it’s so hot anyway?

  10. Morag Walker says:

    Hello Susy Thank you for sharing this beautiful top with us and the shadow transfer tool. I will try to get one from “somewhere” I can’t get motivated either as it’s too hot!!

    • susyranner says:

      Mine came from ebay but it was so long ago that I can’t remember what I paid for it.

  11. kim says:

    Hi Suzy I am a complete beginner love your tips don’t think I will ever knit a plain jumper let alone ones like you knit, just practice I suppose .Thanks again

    • susyranner says:

      Just jump in and knit a jumper, you will learn as you go along and if it goes wrong, just pull it out and start again. Once you’ve made the first one the rest will be easy!

Comments are closed.