Toyota K510

I’ve become a little bit bored with my knitting machines lately so decided to have a look on Ebay and see what I could find in the way of older machines. I thought I might find one that needed a bit of cleaning up to get it working again and that wouldn’t be too expensive. I found an old Toyota K510 which I think is from the late 60s or early 70s. I only bought it yesterday but at about 2:30 this afternoon there was a knock on the door and there was the parcel man with the machine! How’s that for quick service?

It’s always a gamble buying a knitting machine from Ebay as you never know how well it will be packaged but I needn’t have worried about this one. I have never received one that has been so carefully wrapped, I don’t think there was any danger of it being damaged in transit.

After removing all the layers of cardboard I found the machine in it’s original, rather battered box which still contained the polystyrene to hold it all in place. Here’s what was inside:

Toyota K510

There is no lid but after reading the parts list in the manual it appears that it was never originally supplied with one. All the parts are there, the only thing that is missing is the wax cylinder and I think I’ve already got one of those somewhere.

Of course the first thing I checked was the sponge bar. I knew it would be knackered, it was as flat as a fart:

flat as a fart

I have a spare one which is about an inch or so longer than this one but it will do until I can sort this one out.

There was very little fluff inside the machine and no build up of oil and muck so either the previous owner looked after it well or it wasn’t used an awful lot. I think it has been stored in a garage or somewhere with a damp atmosphere for some time as there is some rust on the needles:

rusty needles

I’m pretty confident that I’ll be able to clean them up. I’ll put the worst ones at the ends of the bed and the best ones in the middle.

This isn’t a punchcard machine and as far as I can tell from reading the manual the only patterning it can do is tuck and slip depending on how you set the carriage and the brushes on the sinker plate. Patterns described in the manual are tuck stitch, tuck stitch colour combination, slip loop tuck stitch, slip loop tuck colour combination, open pattern knitting which I assume is tuck lace and thread knitting. I’m not exactly sure what thread knitting is and the black and white photo in the manual doesn’t really help so I’m looking forward to trying it out.

Here are the carriage and sinker plate, or fabric presser as the manual describes it:

carriage sinker plate

There was wool wound around three of the brushes so I’ve removed it all and they are all running freely now.

I’m really pleased with this machine as it’s in very good condition. I’m sure it will work OK once I’ve got the needles cleaned up.

The thing I like best about it is that it’s blue – my favourite colour!

Once I’ve got it up and running I’ll knit a few samples of the pattern stitches. I can’t wait to see what it produces.

Do any of you have a Toyota K510?

 

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Toyota K510

  1. I am almost as excited as you are. Will love to see what you concoct with this one.

    • susyranner says:

      I only wish I didn’t have to clean up those needles, wasting valuable knitting time!

      • True, but what feeling of having got it all done and it will zip along as if new. I have lots of machines but not enough room to set them all up. Getting a bit difficult to man handle them, so am down to the Singer 700,& Passap E6000 that are both out right now. I use them the most.

  2. yvonne says:

    Susan, I cannot think of anything more exciting than getting a new machine!Once upon a time I had 6.It was ridiculous as I had lost the plot. I just love knitting machines. I now have 3 plus a ribber which is quite acceptable!!Enjoy it and let us see what you make up on it.Take care Yvonne

    • susyranner says:

      Oh heck, I’ve got six now!
      I think there’ll be a few practice runs before I actually make anything but I’m raring to go!

  3. kim says:

    Hi Suzy l did same as you got mine on ebay it’s a toyota ks901 with lace carriage and trace thingy. I have replaced the sponge and it works ok. How will you clean the rust off the needles? some of mine need a clean.

    • susyranner says:

      I’m going to soak them in some stuff Billy has which removes rust and helps stop it coming back. Of course he can’t remember what it’s called – “it’s in the shed in a blue container, on the shelf in the corner”, I’m going to look for it tomorrow. After I’ve soaked them in this magic stuff and before I dry them off I’m going to use very fine wire wool on them to hopefully remove any rough bits.

  4. mona says:

    I have a old Russian machine that I got from a little old Russian lady that her friends sent to her once she came to the USA, and couldn’t find a job. The manual is in Russian as well. But I bet you could figure it out! I could not. I am only looking for my money back! The old women never used the machine it looks in great shape.
    If anyone is interested let me know!!

    • susyranner says:

      Sounds interesting, I hope you manage to find it a good home.

    • anne says:

      Hi Mona, there are lots of videos on Youtube showing some old and interesting Knitting Machines being used.I’m sure a few of them are either Russian or Eastern European. Perhaps you might get some help getting it working by looking at them.

  5. Morag Walker says:

    Hi Susy I’m really excited for you and your new machine. Thread lace can be done on the Knitmaster and you just put your yarn in the first feeder and cotton thread in the second feeder and you can do hand tooling with this. Best wishes let us know how you get on. Morag

    • susyranner says:

      This isn’t thread lace though, it’s some kind of two-colour knitting. I’m dying to see what it looks like!

  6. anne says:

    Hi Susy, let’s face it you are always up for a challenge and this is another one which I am sure you will conquer. I do hope you will put up a video showing it working. Your other videos have been very inspirational and have encouraged me not to give up, especially when I have felt like chucking the machine and the wool out of the window. Kindest regards Anne

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks, Anne. I’ve just put all the needles back in and tried running the carriage back and forth without any yarn threaded up. It ran smoothly so I’ll be testing it properly tomorrow.

  7. lilou79 says:

    I’ve seen this machine on ebay in the past and loved it for its colour and streamlined design. Hard to imagine a machine coming without a cover. Good luck with it, rust and all. You do like a challenge!

    • susyranner says:

      The needles are back in now and I’m ready to test it tomorrow. I’m surprised about there being no cover but there are no clips or anything for one to attach to and with there being no mention of one in the manual I’m certain that this machine never had one.

  8. Milly says:

    Hi I have two toyota knitting machine, 747 and 787 I love to use them both, they are good machines, I haven’t had any problems with them. Have fun with your new machine

  9. Viviknitz says:

    I’m very excited for you! I think you’re going to have a blast with the machine once it gets a proper cleaning. My favorite color is blue too! 🙂

  10. maryelens says:

    Have purchased a few knitting machines on eBay – just for the “fun” of getting them working. Some have been REALLY bad, but I now have to re-think that view. How in the world do you clean up that much rust?!!

    • susyranner says:

      I soaked the needles in a tub of DW40 (smells the same as WD40 but made by a different company) then rubbed them all with fine wire wool before drying them. It worked very well – no more rust.

  11. Maureen says:

    I drool over knitting machines every day. I have three and haven’t been able to get to them for ages to do any serious knitting. I look all the time on ebay and have to stop myself buying more. I nearly bought a Toyota 901 last week but resisted. So looking forward to seeing your progress on this one Suzy.

    • susyranner says:

      I did look at some of the Toyota punchcard machines on Ebay but they were a bit too expensive for me at the moment.

  12. Yvonne says:

    Morning Susan,I was thinking late last night that I haven t just got 3+ribber.
    I also have the two Knitmasters at my Dad s!!
    But you are still beating me by 1!!
    hahaha
    Getting high on knitting machines!! Cannot think of anything better!!
    Let us know how you get on today!
    Yvonne

    • susyranner says:

      Well I didn’t count the duplicate Bond and Knitmaster 4500 so I might be beating you by 3!

  13. Zoe Clark says:

    Hi,

    I just got this knitting machine today from a charity store. I have no idea what I’m doing, since I’ve never used a knitting machine at all before, but I’m up for giving it a go.

    I expect I’ll be looking at your blog a lot for this… 🙂

    • susyranner says:

      Good luck with your ‘new’ machine. My Toyota is packed away in it’s box at the moment but no doubt I will be getting it out again sometime.

  14. Patricia Cook says:

    I have just purchased a knitting machine called a Record. It knits garter stitch and is about 60 years old. It knits in a completely different way to normal knitting machines having no needles as such but bars with ‘posh’ nails. After you cast on just lift the knitting up and the stitches are formed. Turn the bar and repeat it is so easy and knits beautiful garter stitch and the other bar is for stocking stitch. The stitches are easily taken off onto a knitting needle to put onto a regular machine — I have just done a border instead of a rib and taken it onto my Brother. You can create wonderful garter stitch patterns also. I am thrilled to bits with it!! Got it on eBay for £15 !! There is a video on you tube showing how it works — Meda Handstrickapparat operation (it is in English).

    • susyranner says:

      I love these old machines. I know they aren’t as fast as the punchcard machines but just the fact that they still work despite their age makes them more fascinating to me. £15 – bargain!

Comments are closed.