First Jumper On The Toyota K510

tuck stitch jumper

For my first attempt at knitting a jumper on the Toyota K510 I used a tuck stitch pattern from the instruction manual which is referred to as open pattern knitting. Every fourth needle is left out of work then the middle needle in each group of three is pushed forward to holding position for three rows, then all three in each group are knitted for three rows. This is repeated throughout.

The yarn is from Poundworld. It wasn’t until I got it home that I realised some balls were thicker than others and were different shades – you get what you pay for. The white and two of the light blues were like a thin DK and the rest of the light blue was like a 4ply so not too much of a difference but enough to be noticable. I made the tension swatch using the thicker of the light blues and created the pattern using Knitware.

The front and back are in the thicker yarn apart from the very top part above the white. The sleeves are in the thinner yarn. I think it turned out alright apart from the neckband which isn’t one of my better efforts:

neckband

I’m used to using a ribber and just knitting the neckband then casting off. This machine doesn’t have a ribber so I did a mock rib folded band which I oversewed into place on the right side. It doesn’t look awful but it doesn’t look great either.

I added an inch to the length of the sleeves when I created the pattern as sometimes my sleeves are a little shorter than I’d like them. As it turns out these are a bit too long. I don’t know if it’s because of the difference in tension between the thinner and thicker yarns or if it’s because I did a different style of sleeve than normal. Usually I do a medium taper sleeve, this time I did a modified lantern sleeve. It’s not a problem though as I can fold the cuffs back if I need to.

All in all I think the jumper turned out alright for a first attempt on this machine.

 

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to First Jumper On The Toyota K510

  1. Jenny says:

    Hi Susie , excellent job, just shows you don’t need a top of the range machine to make lovely knits.
    Jenny uk

    • susyranner says:

      Hand manipulated patterning looks just as good but it does take longer to do though not nearly as long as it would take me to hand knit!

  2. Maureen says:

    Hi Suzy. Did you use what is referred to in England as 4 ply yarn for that machine? Great design and knitting. Love the tuck stitch pattern. You are always an inspiration to me. So much so that I got up to my machines yesterday and tried some tuck stitch on the bulky machine. I have such ideas spinning around in my head for tea towels, hot pads, baby blankets etc. as well as the much promised cardigan for my husband. Think I have finally found a tuck stitch pattern that will work for him. He wants an arran sweater and I am not good at hand knitting big projects. I get bored and leave them half way through. This particular punchcard on elongated is the closest I can find. Will blog about it in the next day or so.

    • susyranner says:

      It doesn’t say 4ply on the label but that’s about what it is. I don’t have the patience for hand knitting, it takes me so long to do that I just give up – that’s why I started machine knitting. Some tuck stitch patterns do look a lot like aran knits, looking forward to seeing what you come up with.

    • Morag Walker says:

      Hi Maureen you said you had ideas about hot pads. Do you knit them? and how do you keep them on? Best wishes

  3. Carol J says:

    Looks great. I love the stitch and am eager to try it on my poor lonesome Brother bulky. First I have to dig it out from under the ironing pile. ☺️ Very inventive use of “bargain” yarn.

    • susyranner says:

      It really is bargain yarn, this is the first time I’ve had different thicknesses though. It’s alright for things that are going to be worn and washed over and over but if I was wanting to knit something a bit more ‘special’ I’d go for better quality yarn.

  4. yvonne says:

    Hi Susan.
    This sweater is so pretty and I love the tuck stitch.
    I cannot wait to try it.
    Thanks for the explanation.
    Yvonne

    • susyranner says:

      I was originally going to do a two colour tuck or slip pattern but when I realised the yarn colour and thickness wasn’t consistent I had to come up with something different which probably ended up being easier than the first plan.

  5. Viviknitz says:

    That turned out really nice! I’ve been searching the net for a manual for your machine to see if I could duplicate the stitch patterns on my km 4500 but no luck so far. I’ve been doing some samples of 2 color tuck that I’ve enjoyed doing, especially now that I’ve made some needle pushers from plastic canvas for them. Maybe I’ll do a sweater next! You’re very inspiring! Well done.

    • susyranner says:

      I’ll scan the manual sometime and put the link on the blog. It might not be for a few days though.

  6. Carol J says:

    Vivinitz, I’m intrigued by the idea of plastic canvas needle pushers. Could you explain? Or is there a link? My Google search turned up nothing that seems relevant.

  7. Viviknitz says:

    Carol J , if you are on Ravelry, I’ve made a post with pics in the mid gauge machine knitters group. Basically I had no pushers that came with my 5mm Knitmaster 4500 so I made some with plastic canvas and craft sticks. The 5 count plastic is the perfect size for the needle spacing so I cut two pieces , sewed the edges together to hold them and put craft sticks in the middle for stability. They work great and I can cut out any configurations I might need.

  8. Sheryl Evans says:

    Hi Suzy, I don’t think that the neckband looks bad. I think sometimes we are more critical of our work than another person would be. I do that too. I really haven’t seen anything that you’ve made that I wouldn’t wear myself. 🙂

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks, Sheryl. I think it’s just because I did it a different way than I normally would.

  9. Maureen says:

    Thanks for your reply on my blog. I left a response on it. I did find a pattern on the link you suggested. Thanks as always for your help.

  10. Morag Walker says:

    Hi Susy what a lovely jumper. I think it’s gorgeous.

  11. Maureen says:

    Reply for Morag. The hot pads I am thinking of knitting are based on the hand knit ones my mum in law used to make. I have a hand knit pattern and I was just going to do the same thing on the bulky using my garter bar so I can make them in garter stitch as she did. haven’t tried it yet but don’t see any reason they won’t work. I will add another reply later today when I have dug out the pattern and I will detail how I propose to do it on the machine.

  12. Maureen says:

    I found my hand knitting hot pad pattern.
    Here it is: All done in garter stitch
    cast on 3 sts
    K 1 row
    K1 inc 1 st in next st, K to end of row
    Continue increasing at beginning of every row until 40 rows
    K 1 row
    k2, K2 tog, K to end
    Continue decreasing at beg of eack row until 3 sts
    K 1 row
    Cast off

    My Mum in law would use two strands of double knitting (worsted weight) yarn and usually used acrylic.

    I only ever hand knitted one, that was a couple of Christmases ago. I vowed never again as it seemed to take forever knitting in garter stitch.

    I plan to use Bulky #5 yarn as my machine will knit that and just move two sts out by one needle at the beginning of the increase rows and likewise move two stitches in one needle on the decrease rows.

    I am hoping it will work. If not I will just knit a plain square in garter stitch.

    It’s all experimental at this stage.

  13. Maureen says:

    woopsie, the above pattern should read ‘Continue increasing at beginning of each row until 40 sts’.

    Now going to post this on my own blog. Don’t want to be poaching on Suzy’s.

Comments are closed.