Update On The Cardi

I went to Boyes on Monday for two more balls of the cream Aran but they had none. I called in again on Friday but they still had none so I bought two balls in a light stone colour instead.

I have started knitting the front bands, each one needs to be done in two sections as the Bond doesn’t have enough needles to do each one all in one piece.

Here’s how it looks now:

IMG_0008.JPG

The two sections of the band are only pinned together at the moment, hopefully the join will look better when I’ve sewn it.

In a way I’m glad that I had to buy a different colour for the bands, I think it makes a nice contrast. You can see a line of uneven stitches a few rows in on the top part of the band. That’s where the Bond rubber decided it was going to play silly buggers. I’m hoping once it’s washed it might even itself out a bit.

This entry was posted in Bond, machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Update On The Cardi

  1. Leola says:

    I like that and your choice of colours and the length.

  2. anne says:

    Hi Susy. It looks really good. I’m sure the join will look fine once it’s sew up. If it doesn’t then perhaps knitting a piece to go over the join and adding some ties might help.

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks, Anne. If the join looks bad I’ll do something like you suggest to enhance the ‘design feature’!

  3. linda says:

    Hi Susy
    I love the stitch pattern, could I do this on my bond elite by hand, I don’t have a ribber,thanks Linda

    • susyranner says:

      You should be able to.
      Knit 10 rows then reform the stitches on the centre two needles, leave the next four as they are, reform the stitches on the next two needles and continue to do this all the way along to either end of the needlebed.
      Knit 10 more rows then leave the stitches on the centre four needles as they are, reform the stitches on the next two needles, leave the next four and so on.

  4. Maureen says:

    I really like those two colours together. It’s going to be a super cardi for the winter for you. Love the pattern in the body. Looking forward to seeing it finished.

    I ended up doing a different colour on the bands for my husband’s cardigan because I thought I might not have enough of the main colour. He really liked having the two colours. I actually liked it too. I would have had enough of the main colour as it turned out but we both liked the two colour mix.

    • susyranner says:

      Sometimes things can work out looking better than than they would have if we’d made them as we originally intended to.

  5. Morag Walker says:

    Hi Susy I think it looks gorgeous, two colours make a nice contrast. Lovely. Best wishes MoragW

  6. linda says:

    Thanks Susy, I will have a go, regards Linda

  7. annabarron says:

    looks really nice

  8. Yvonne Ziser says:

    It’s looking good Susan.
    The two colours compliment each other and I think this cardi is going to be very interesting.
    Looking forward to the finished photo.
    Yvonne

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks, Yvonne. With a bit of luck I’ll finish knitting it today then I can decide if it needs any fasteners or if I’ll get away with just a belt.

  9. Katrien says:

    My trusted Bond Classic has been set up and I hope to make a cardigan for my daughter using this wonderful stitch. What ribbing did you use at the beginning of the sleeve K4, P2 ?

    • susyranner says:

      Yes, it’s really just the first ten rows of the stitch pattern so not intentional ribbing.

  10. Katrien says:

    Thanks, I will try this stitch tomorrow !

Comments are closed.