Fair Isle Swatch

Just knitted a fair isle swatch on the Bond – ignore the mistake if you can see it.

The jumper will be mainly blue with the fair isle border just above the ribbing on the body and sleeves.

I think I might do two rows of white above and below the pattern rather than just the one that I did in the swatch.

I hope it doesn’t take too long to knit the jumper, the fair isle is all hand manipulated so is quite time consuming though very satisfying when you can see it properly when it’s off the machine.

IMG_0344.JPG

This entry was posted in Misc. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Fair Isle Swatch

  1. masion65 says:

    Very lovely design.

  2. very attractive. i agree that 2 rows of white would give the pattern more emphasis. will you post a pic when jumper is finished?

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks, Leslie. I’ll post update photos as I’m knitting it. Hopefully it will turn out the same as it looks in my head at the moment!

  3. Carol says:

    Beautiful! I like the idea of the border rather than the whole garment–certainly much more time effective and, in my opinion, more eye-catching use of the design. Less is more. Will you use the border on the sleeves as well or just work them plain?

    • susyranner says:

      I will put the border on the sleeves too. Don’t know whether to do it with drop sleeves, set in or raglan sleeves, I will have to think about it.

  4. Linda Cleary says:

    Very nice!

  5. Betty Moyer says:

    really pretty

  6. Margaret Cummings says:

    As usual Susan another lovely garment in the process of being made.

  7. Morag Walker says:

    Hi Susy Great minds think alike. I had something like this out as well & intend to start a jumper for myself!

    • susyranner says:

      I was in two minds on whether to do an intarsia picture of Santa or a Christmas pudding or something, or whether to do fair isle. I decided on the fair isle so I don’t just have to wear it at Christmas.

  8. anne says:

    As usual Susy you do not “rest on your laurels” but try your hand at doing something new. Thank you for being such an inspiration.

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks, Anne. I have done fair isle jumpers on the Bond before but it was a lot of years ago, I thought it would be good to try it again.

  9. anna barron says:

    looks good like to see finished garment

  10. Cara says:

    Hi Susie,
    As usual lovely work and very inspiring for me so will hopefully get around to trying out on my Bond will start with a swatch and see how I go – Cara from OZ.

  11. misty says:

    beautiful preview…. looking forward to seeing how it all turns out 🙂

  12. mathom says:

    Very nice design. What weight of yarn are you using?

  13. Yvonne says:

    Really nice pattern and colours Susan. Is it your Xmas Day pulli?

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks, Yvonne. Yes, I think this will be my Christmas Day jumper if it turns out right.

  14. Carol Muller says:

    Love the pattern and the colors really set it off!

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks, Carol. I was going to use a royal blue but in the end I went for this one which is more of a denim blue.

  15. tildama says:

    Amazing design beautifully executed – once again.

Comments are closed.