Back Of Fair Isle Jumper Finished

IMG_0358.JPG

I need to swiss darn over a couple of stitches on one of the snowflakes where I messed up the pattern but apart from that I am really pleased with the way it has knitted up.

This entry was posted in machine knitting, Bond. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Back Of Fair Isle Jumper Finished

  1. Well that is one bang up beautiful job. Can’t wait to see it all put together. By the way, Happy Birthday Susy. Don’t know your exact birthday but do know you are a Saggi, like myself.

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks, Sharon. My birthday is on Wednesday and I know Billy’s bought me something for my Bond so I can’t wait to get my hands on it!

  2. linda says:

    That looks really good, what sort of yarn have you used it looks a bit ‘marly’,but that could be my eyesight !

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks, Linda. It’s acrylic aran, It’s a solid colour not a marl, probably the way the light’s shining on it is giving a marl effect.

  3. Maureen says:

    Nice fair isle Suzy. You have a lot of patience to do that manually. I remember way back when I did some manual fair isle on my Knitmaster 4500. It was just a small cardigan for my daughter who was two. She is 43 now! I loved that machine, wish I still had one.

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks, Maureen. The fair isle is a bit time consuming but it’s worth it in the end. I will never get rid of my Knitmaster 4500, I love it for making socks on.

  4. mathom says:

    Looks great! I need to get practicing some fair isle on my lk-150. You’ve got me inspired.

  5. Jo says:

    Hi Susy! That is totally awesome sauce! Now, when it’s mentioned you did it manually on your KM, does that mean that each row of your motif, you would lay the contrasting yarn over the appropriate needles? And fair isle doesn’t have the floats in the back like intarsia, correct? Very gorgeous, indeed. I am going to mess about with my intarsia carriage more today. . . but may attempt some fair isle. I have a Knitmaster 700 (that I bought there in the UK, I bought 2 in fact–were great deals, couldn’t pass them up!!!)

    Jo in Kansas USA

    • susyranner says:

      Intarsia doesn’t have floats at the back, fair isle does.
      To do fair isle on the Bond I pull out the needles that will be knitted in contrast yarn to holding position, knit the row then go back and manually knit the needles that were in holding position with the contrast yarn.

  6. Ann Poprdan says:

    Hi Suzy, very trendy. I like it.

  7. anne says:

    The colour and pattern look so good. I like the shaping too. I have a Bond but it is so under used. You show that it is possible to knit some amaing things on the Bond. Looking forward to seeing the complete jumper..

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks, Anne. I’m trying to use my Bond more, it’s been a bit neglected while I’ve been using the Silver Reed and Knitmasters.

  8. Jewel Nelson says:

    Wow–so much work, but so lovely! You have patience.

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks, Jewel. I’ve had to admit defeat tonight and have a break from it because I started making silly mistakes.

  9. anna barron says:

    looks really smashing

  10. Deb says:

    Very Nice – it looks wonderful.

  11. Yvonne says:

    It’s lovely Susan. The two colours compliment each other and the pattern is ready for Xmas Day!

  12. Jenny says:

    As usual beautilful work, well done , Happy Birthday for wednesday.

  13. Alex Raw says:

    Wow Susan that looks fantastic! I love it! I love the colours too. Can’t wait to see it finished.
    Is it knitted in Aran weight yarn?

  14. Morag Walker says:

    Hello Susy This is lovely but don’t be like me and have stitches which were not picked up at the back! What an embarrassment! Morag W

Comments are closed.