Another Jumper On The Bond

image

I finished knitting this last weekend. Like the last jumper I knitted on the Bond, this one has knitted up the wrong size. The previous one came out bigger than expected, this one came out smaller. I don’t understand why as I washed and dried both swatches before measuring them. I must have mis-counted on both of them.

Despite it being a bit smaller than intended it’s still wearable so it’s not a complete failure.

I received a Bond USM carriage for my birthday and used it for this jumper. It is of far inferior quality than the original carriage and does feel rather flimsy. I really don’t think this one will last the 30 years that my old one has!

image

However, I did find it better than the old one would have been for knitting the contrasting blocks on the front of the jumper. The old one has a wire fabric guide so it’s a little trickier to change colours while knitting the row. With the new carriage you can take out the first colour at the exact point that you want to change and just put the second colour in.

I’ve put the Bond away for now and am now concentrating on the Orion that I talked about in my last post. I’ve started knitting a piece nearly the full width of the machine in a racked pattern. If all goes to plan I will use the lenth of fabric that it produces to make a cut and sew top. I haven’t got a pattern for it yet, I haven’t decided whether to buy a sewing pattern or take apart a top that I already have and use that as the pattern template. I do have Knit Radar sheets but to use them I would have to re-draw them and re-scale them, probably making a right mess of it and getting myself in a muddle.

I’ll just carry on knitting until I’ve used up the full cone then I’ll decide how I’m going to finish it. That’s if I manage to do all the knitting without making any mistakes!

 

This entry was posted in Bond, machine knitting, orion. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Another Jumper On The Bond

  1. linda says:

    The jumper is lovely Susy, it looks so simple and elegant, you have some great ideas.

  2. Morag Walker says:

    Hello Susy I think it’s gorgeous. Do you have any experience of Knitware Design program & how much is it. I would love to have that.

  3. Maureen says:

    Always so adventurous Suzy. I would be wary of cut and sew but you just go right in and do it. On this sweater how did you deal with the threads at the back? Did you cut and tie them or does it have floats? You always have great designs. Love this one too.

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks, Maureen. There are no floats, I did it as intarsia so the only ends are where I joined in the different colours. I sewed the ends through the backs of the stitches when I’d finished.

  4. looks really nice. no new stuff is built to last like it used to be.

  5. Yvonne says:

    Happy New Year Susan.Love the sweater.It s a great pattern.
    I wish I could find carriages for my Zippy 90 and Brother KX 395. The Zippy handle has broken and a small piece has broken from the 395.Neither are repairable.
    If you hear of carriages for sale, please let me know.
    Happy knitting.Yvonne

  6. Ruth Heaberlin says:

    Looks great!!!! What weight yarn and keep plate size did you use ?

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  7. verna bohnert says:

    I am giving you a “Wow” for this sweater, you did a great job! Of all the sweaters I’ve seen done on the bond, this one is the best. Your shoulders and sleeves look very good as all the ones I have seen have these huge, droopy shoulders! That is sooooo out of style now. What pattern did you use?

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks, Verna. I used the Knitware software to create the pattern and chose set-in classic shoulder which makes it more fitted than the drop shoulder.

  8. yvettechilcott says:

    Great sweater, I really like the intarsia design!

  9. Cara says:

    Hi Susan Happy new Year another lovely sweater by you – Bought a Classic Bond over 30 years ago still using it but hem on the way out – then bought USM 2ndhand from US parts missing – cost over$200.00.!!! a rip off price plus the plastic in the hem very inferior and first use split a whole lot – so have now made rag hem(Diana Sullivan) works OK have not made much on that one – find the machine often hops off the table – wondering if I can interchange the keyplates and carriages between the two – have a 30 needle extension for both I think but no extra needles – Rang a dealer(only one here) re a new hem – he said Bond is a childs’ toy you cant knit on them !!!!!! nearly sent him photos of sweaters hats etc., I have done on theClassic.

    Happy knitting for 2015 so far I have a few UFO’S done

    Thank you for all you do to help us when we need it.

    Cara
    Sydney
    Australia

    • susyranner says:

      A chid’s toy! The cheek of the man! Although if his only experience is with the latest USMs and not the original 80s Bonds I can kind of understand him thinking that.
      I have used the USM carriage on my original needlebed and have used my original old keyplates in the USM carriage with no problems. I have heard that the intarsia keyplates aren’t interchangeable but as I don’t have one of those I can’t say if it’s true or not.

  10. anne says:

    Hi Susy is seems that the Knitware product is now discontunued though it will be able for a short time from two retailers, How disappointing. It is so easy to use and quite inexpensive.

  11. anne says:

    Hi Susy I agree it is a shame. It was through watching your videos that I becase aware of Knitware. I believe it was originally devised by someone else before being sold. So hopefully another person will take it on. In the meantime, though discontinued it is still available for a short time.

Comments are closed.