About To Try Cut And Sew

As I mentioned at the end of my last post, I am going to have a go at cut and sew. I have done cut and sew necklines but never a full jumper so I don’t know how this is going to work out.

I was knitting a length of fabric on the Orion in a racked pattern and all was going well until it decided to drop some stitches at the start of a row (it was probably user error). I wasn’t even going to attempt to get it back onto the machine so instead I cast on the Knitmaster 4500 and knitted a length of stocking stitch.

So I now have two more or less equal lengths of fabric with which to make my jumper. I’m thinking I’ll probably make it patterned from the bottom to the armholes then plain the rest of the way up.

I searched ebay for a sewing pattern and found one that I think will be suitable which I bid on and won. It arrived this afternoon and after having a quick read of the making up instructions I think I will be able to manage it alright (famous last words!).

I’m hoping to get it done by the end of this coming weekend.

2015/01/img_0499-0.jpg

This entry was posted in Misc. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to About To Try Cut And Sew

  1. Yvonne says:

    Go for it Susan. Pattern and colour looking good. I did my first cut and sew neckline 2 weeks ago and it really wasn t as bad as I thought it would be. I would like to try the full pattern too.
    Take care Yvonne

  2. Cheri says:

    Check out OJolly ‘s website and blog on cut n sew. She offers step by step instructions and her work is beautiful. I have been following her for a long time. I got a serger a few months ago and plan to take plunge this year. I love the fabric you made. Keep us posted on your progress.

  3. anne says:

    Wow Susy, you really are stretching your horizons. The colour is really lovely and I am looking forward to viewing the finished article plus any tips you might give.

    • susyranner says:

      My only tip so far is use a plain stocking stitch fabric for your first attempt – I wish I had!

  4. I had forgotten all about cut and sew. Thanks for bringing up the topic. I have wanted to try this as well. I hope it works well for you. I look forward to seeing your results.

  5. Margaret Cummings (known as Mrs. Badlyironed, but for some Reason Facebook atfer 9 years have booted me out)! says:

    I just love your attitude – get up and try it. Would love to try it s well ………..

    • susyranner says:

      If you don’t try you’ll never know if you can do it. If it turns out OK I’ll do it again, if not then at least I’ll know I was rubbish at it!

  6. Morag Walker says:

    Hello Susy You really try to get folk going with different ideas don’t you? I tried cut n sew years ago for a jumper for my dear Mum but the neckline was far too big. Maybe I could do that with the felting I have just done!! I’ll see how yours turns out first!! Best wishes Morag

    • susyranner says:

      I think the neck of the one I’m doing might cause me problems – only because I’m not quite sure exactly how to do it.

  7. Ann Poprdan says:

    And you have a nice trouser pattern as well as all those tops. I did a piece of tuck stitch but over pressed it. I made a sleeveless top and have all the edges overlocked but haven’t sewn it up yet. I am yearning to do some sewing and I stacks of alterations and mending to do so maybe I’ll start with the cut and sew top. Probably won’t fit me now!
    Ann

    • susyranner says:

      The trouser pattern isn’t included but I did once make myself a pair of trousers many, many years ago when I was about sixteen. They actually fitted me which truly amazed me!

  8. Else says:

    I’ve got my fingers crossed for you – GO

  9. Sandra says:

    Hello Susy, I keep my fingers crossed that it will turn out well. I want to do a similar projekt of cut and sew. So I can´t wait to see yours. I heard it would be easier to use a serger for the edges. Hope everything goes well. Will you do a video for this project? Good Luck Sandra 🙂

    • susyranner says:

      I don’t have a serger so I have to make do with my very basic Silver machine. It seems to be managing OK. I’m not making a video, I think I’ll leave that for those who have more experience at cut and sew!

  10. Maureen says:

    Looking forward to seeing the finished top. Always so adventurous. Love that blue, so rich and strong. Really interested to see how cut and sew works and turns out.

    • susyranner says:

      Hopefully I’ll be finished soon, the pieces are cut out and waiting to be sewn together. I hope I don’t mess it up completely!

  11. Cara says:

    Good Morning Susan,
    You are very brave to tryout the cut and sew but I am sure you wont have any problems you do such lovely work.
    I have never attempted it as I have visions of masses of stitches coming undone – maybe if I get over that one and when I see yours I might make an attempt at it –
    I have masses of sewing patterns so now another chore to go through them and pick one out –
    Have made a boo boo I started a shrug but finished up with a very long rectangle good size then realised Ii had not decreased either end for the sleeve closure – have laid it aside while I try and work something out – the yarn I used is odd balls of stash pink brown rust and yellow – looks like marble cake !!!!! will be good for the winter to team up with other things.

    Good look with the cut and sew.

    Cara
    Sydney
    Australia.it

    • susyranner says:

      Could you not practice a bit of cut and sew on the shrug? I’m not really picturing what you’ve done wrong so maybe it’s not possible.

Comments are closed.