Short Sleeved Top On The Singer KE2400

 

A very kind lady called Ann who reads my blog sent me, amongst other things, a Knit Copy device for my Singer KE2400. I am thrilled to bits with it and would go as far as to say I like it better than the Knit Radar that I use with my Silver Reed and Knitmaster machines.

I found a top that I liked in one of my old Modern Knitting magazines and copied the schematics onto the pattern sheet. Using this sheet I produced the short sleeved top pictured above.

The yarn I used was from a job lot that I bought off Ebay. It is a very fine crepe type yarn and I had to knit two strands together to produce a thickness similar to 3ply. The original plan was to knit it all in green but unfortunately there wasn’t enough so I improvised with the pink.

The Knit Copy is a piece of cake to use and I fully intend to put it to work again very shortly when I knit up some more of the yarn from my Ebay purchase.

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Short Sleeved Top On The Singer KE2400

  1. leenrue says:

    I just love the sweater you made that is very different love the neck line how it cuts across in a flat not total V neck and the bottom is so much differnet then I have seen Just love the sweater you did a great job as always. keeping me inspired Mary

  2. anne says:

    Wow, you have accomplished a super looking jumper using the Knit Copy. I was dying to see what you would come up with. Thank you for being such an inspiration.

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks, Anne and thank you for the Knit Copy! I think I will be using this a lot, I’ve already got plans for my next project.

  3. Meg Turner says:

    As usual, your product is beautiful. I wish I could, I wish I could . . .

  4. Judi Meissner says:

    Love the knit top you did on the 2400!!!
    Judi

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks, Judi, I just wish I’d had enough of the green so I could have made it all in one colour.

      • Judi Meissner says:

        It might be beautiful in one color, but it was definetely very interesting the way you did it &
        I would some something similar!

  5. Leola says:

    Pardon my ignorance but what is a knit copy machine. Is it the same as the Knit Radar for the Singer or on the Brother machine the Knitleader?

    • susyranner says:

      The Knit Copy is a pattern charting device for this brand of Singer which looks more like the Knitleader and Knit Tracer but does just the same job as the Knit Radar. A very useful thing to have.

  6. Morag Warag Walker says:

    What a lovely lacy pattern. It’s gorgeous.

  7. mathom says:

    Great job. The color change worked very well. What is different about the Knit Copy vs. Knit Radar/Leader?

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks, mathom. The Knit Copy works just the same as the Knitleader and Knit Tracer, it looks the same too with the patterns being drawn onto full size sheets which can be wiped clean and used again.

  8. Yvonne says:

    I really like your new creation Susan.The neckline is so unusual and such a change from a v-neck.Great job and ,as always,new inspiration for us all.Thanks for sharing your work with us.

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks, Yvonne. The original pattern that I took the schematics from had a ribbed neckband but I thought this would look better without so I just did a worm trim instead. I wasn’t sure how it would work out but it seems to be OK.

  9. Margaret Cummings (known as Mrs. Badlyironed, but for some Reason Facebook atfer 9 years have booted me out)! says:

    Top quality as usual Sue !

  10. ears657@gmail.com says:

    What is “the Knit Copy”? I have a Passap E6000 and a .knit King 930. Is this something I could use with either of these machines? I think your sweater is very pretty. Thank you. Elaine

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    • susyranner says:

      The Knit Copy is the name of the pattern charting device for this brand of Singer machine. I’m not certain but I think for your Knit King you would need a Knitleader and the Passap no doubt has it’s own charting device. There are different ones for different machines.

  11. Ann Poprdan says:

    I love your jumper Susy. You are a very prolific and talented knitter. Don’t you love that 2400? I often wish I still had mine. I guess when I was Younger the grass was always greener. The jumper shows pink and grey on my monitor. Is that right?

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks, Ann. Yes I do love the 2400, it’s my new favourite machine! The jumper is green and pink.

  12. anne says:

    Hi Susan, Just to say that the Knit Copy KC37 can be used not only with the Singer KE2400, KE2500 (and maybe KE2600?) but also with Toyota Knitting Machines.(if you look on the box it came with, it has Toyota not Singer on it) It’s a shame that the Knit Radar, Knit Leader or Knit Contour are specific to certain brand of Knitting Machines and not interchangeable like this early KC37 Knit Copy.

    • susyranner says:

      It would be a lot less confusing if all the charting devices were interchangeable between machines. I’m wondering if the Toyota knit tracer would work with the KE2400, not that I need it, just wondering.

  13. anne says:

    Well, Susan maybe someone will give it a try. I have no idea if the Toyota Knit Tracer/Knit Copy is fundamently the same charting device but given different names if sold by either Singer or Toyota. Perhaps the name changed according to when it was manjufactured. If the device can slot in the back of the knitting machine, rather than fitting on top like the Knitmaster/Silver Reed Knit Radar then it should work? The patterning device called ‘Knit Forma’ fits Passap but also the Singer Electronic Double Bed machines. They are the same patterning device, the only difference is the brand name and the colour (one is cream the other green). To confuse matters further, the Singer Electronic double beds go by different names depending where they are sold i.e. Singer, White, Superba and Phildar. It makes ones head spin!!

  14. pls says:

    WOW!!!! That is just gorgeous! Colors, lace, neck design–all of it. What an inspiration!
    Congrats on a beautiful garment! (the perfect hems are not lost on us either!)

  15. Jewel Nelson says:

    Beautiful! You have the talent to improvise and it looks good.

Comments are closed.