Testing The Toyota Ribber

The Toyota ribber I bought arrived a few days ago and I have cleaned the needles and refurbished the sponge bar. Today I attached it to the 787 and tested it out. I am pleased to report that there are no problems with it as far as I can tell.

I tried out a couple of rib stitches then went onto full needle rib. I was using 4ply  and struggled to push the carriage. I really should have used a thinner yarn so I can’t blame the machine for that. Then I inserted a punchcard to do a rib pattern, still using 4ply and still doing full needle rib. That was too much for it and it jammed so I called it a day. I will try it again some time with a thinner yarn and maybe using more weight.

  

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Testing The Toyota Ribber

  1. Alex says:

    Lovely Susan, what is it like to use? Is it just like the knitmaster? That said it looks more like a brother.
    I have still yet to make anything on my Brother KH891, I love that machine, but I have been so busy with work and other things :/ Never mind.

    • susyranner says:

      It feels more solid than the Knitmaster, probably because it’s a heavier machine. I’ve never used a Brother so I can’t compare it.

  2. steelbreeze says:

    2 ply is best for FNR… makes a lovely fabric!

    • susyranner says:

      I need to buy some. The fabric produced using the 4ply was nice but moving the carriage was hard work.

  3. Dawn McHugh says:

    nice sample when doing a full needle on mine I have to set to half pitch, although its a long time since I have done it, cant remember what yarn weight yarn I used. Did it come with an instruction book.

    • susyranner says:

      I’ve done it before on the Knitmaster but it was quite a while ago. It didn’t come with an instruction book but I found one online that I downloaded.

  4. Yvonne says:

    It often happens to me that things just aren’t as I want them Susan. I made a lacy top and the sleeves looked ridiculous so I took them out to start again and the sleeveless top is still looking at me. I will finish it but not right now!!
    Take a deep breath and have a break from it.
    You’ ll crack it….as you always do.
    Good luck and take care.Yvonne.

    • susyranner says:

      I knew it was just because my yarn was too thick, in fact I was suprised that I managed to knit as many rows as I did. I do have some yarn which is a lot thinner than 2ply, I might try that and see how it turns out. Maybe I could use it for a cut and sew top.

  5. Cara says:

    HI SUSY, THANKS FOR INFO RE SPONGE BAR PROBLEMS – HAD TO USE WEATHER STRIP AS ONLY KNIT MACHINE SHOP HERE DOES NOT CARRY FOR KX350 – WILL START OVER SEE HOW WE GO.
    Oops sorry re caps – been looking at a lot of your videos – you do them brilliantly so easy to understand – thank you.

    Cara
    Sydney
    Australia.

  6. Terri says:

    Hi Susy – I have recently bought a Toyota 901 and 501 ribber. After twenty five years of avoiding this make, I decided to take the plunge. I haven’t used the ribber yet as I’m working through the single bed manual and I’m doing it on Brother standard gauge needles, which I put into the 901. I didn’t think they’d work as they’re shorter than the 901 needles and their cut outs are different, but I thought I’d give it a go anyway. So far these (20) needles have produced good samples of stocking stitch, tuck stitch, fair isle, plating and lace. I’m doing this because the first thing I discovered after buying this set up, is that new Toyota needles for the 901 are rarer than hen’s teeth. There seems to have been much speculation over the years, as to whether the 901 would accept other brand needles but, as far as I know – no-one had ever tried it – hence me doing this. Next task is setting up the ribber to see how the Brother needles interact with the Toyota ribber needles. I’ll keep you posted – Terri 🙂

    • susyranner says:

      It will be interesting to hear how well it works. I didn’t think different brands of needles would be interchangeable but It’s something I’ve never tried.

Comments are closed.