Two Poor Finishes

I’ve knitted two tops on the Toyota 787 and although I’m really pleased with how the machine knits I’m quite disappointed with the finished tops.

The first one is in a fine textured yarn (no label) which knitted up OK. I didn’t put a neckband on it as I thought it would look alright without one. It fits me alright when I first put it on but it gradually gets bigger and bigger the longer I wear it and ends up like a sack! It’s a loose fit to start with so you can imagine what it’s like by the end of the day. I’ve been wearing it around the house which is about all that it’s good for.

 
The second one is quite a loose fit too but it would have been OK if I hadn’t messed it up when I was sewing it up. I decided to sew the sleeves in using the sewing machine and made a bit of a mess of it. Also I managed to make a bad job of the neckband. So that’s another one for wearing around the house. Still, I did get to knit a motif which was much easier than on the Silver Reed as you don’t need to screw anything onto the carriage or put anything onto the needlebed.

 

Here’s one of the sleeves that I made such a mess of

 
I am currently making a cut and sew top using the same green yarn that I used for the sideways knitted cardi a few weeks ago. I need to sew the sleeves in and do a neckband, I hope I can do a better job of them this time! 
  

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Two Poor Finishes

  1. Maureen says:

    I wondered about sewing up on a sewing machine. Have you done it before? Pretty pink shades of yarn. Like the idea of short sleeves for the summer.

    • susyranner says:

      I have done it before and it looked better than this. It was my own fault, I rushed it. If I’d taken my time and been more careful it would have looked better.

  2. Susan says:

    Susyranner,
    I like both tops really well. I do see what you mean about the inset of the sleeves. But still a great job on the tops.

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks, Susan. I could re-sew the sleeves in but I think I’m just going to leave it for now.

  3. Dawn McHugh says:

    Its a shame about the blue one as it looks lovely and comfy, my down fall was always the finishing off so I treated myself to a hauge linker and it does lovely finishes. 🙂

    • susyranner says:

      I had a Hague linker but I never really got on with it so I passed it on to someone who would make more use of it than me?

  4. Margaret CUMMINGS ~ DONINGTON (Lincolnshire) M.K,. Club says:

    Oooh Susan, (sorry is that your Sunday Name ?|) I so do like them both, especially the one with the mofif. Couldn’t you undo the sleeves and just stitch them in normally ? Why, does the first one get bigger as you wear it ? It must be a yarn fault ?
    Well, your two mishaps make mine look nothing. I have had an awful day knitting the back of a Lace Cardigan. Everything possible has gone wrong, the KnitLeader not moving along properly, not showing enough rows. |I am currently experimenting with Blue Tack on the end of the row counter to see if that helps. I have two KnitLeaders, the other is set up with the Brother 260, I should have used that one !!! Then a needle mis knitted, close too the edge but not too much of a problem, until I tried to replace five suspecct needles. Horrible Mess, but hopefully I can retrieve it later when I sew up. Then I messed up the pattern,(should have turnedf the electronic off) and I now have absolutely no idea where I am. Urrrrgh !!! I think this is going to be like your ever expanding jumper !!!!
    I LOVE YOUR KNITTING, AND YOUR ENTHUSIASM !!!!

    • susyranner says:

      The first one gets bigger as I wear it as I think possibly I should have knitted it at a tighter tension. I have another one like that, made on the Bond. I think there might be some cotton in it, not sure. I could re-do the sleeves but to be honest I’ve lost interest in it now so I’m not going to bother.
      I have had many disaster days just like yours! Some days you are just destined not to knit.

  5. tildama says:

    What a shame it is that the grey top loses shape with wear. It looks absolutely fabulous!

    • susyranner says:

      When I knitted the tension swatch it seemed OK, obviously with the top being bigger and weighing more it has affected it. It would probably have worked out better at a tighter tension but it’s too late now and there’s no way I’m going to re-knit it!

  6. Karen Heggs says:

    They both look fine Susan! However you are the one wearing them and if the yarn isn’t good or there is a problem with it perhaps this is why it is stretching so much

    • susyranner says:

      I think the grey one would have been better on a tighter tension and the pink one, well it’s just too big and the sleeves are a mess.

  7. Helen Baxter says:

    I just love the fact that you are quite happy to show your “disasters” as well as your accomplishments but to be honest both jumpers look really good to me 🙂

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks, Helen. I have to show you my mistakes otherwise I’d be ‘living a lie’ by letting you think I was perfect! The jumpers look alright on the dummy but when I’m wearing them they really aren’t.

  8. Morag Walker says:

    Hi Susy They both look fine from here. Keep you cosy in the winter though. Thank you for sharing your disasters with us. I would have made a bigger mess!

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks, Morag. The only good thing is that I didn’t pay an awful lot for the yarn so all I’ve lost really is my time.

Comments are closed.