Two More Finished Items

This is the last cut and sew jumper I’ll be doing for a while. It turned out much better than the abandonned one which is still in the cupboard waiting for me to sort out. This one I tried really hard to get right and I think it looks alright apart from the neck which is a bit lopsided. The bottom hem and cuffs have elastic threaded through them which makes them fit better. Even though this one ended up OK I still don’t think my sewing skills are good enough for cut and sew but I may try it again at some time in the future.

This was knitted in Marriner 4ply acrylic on the Toyota 787. I found a top I liked in an old Modern Knitting magazine and copied the scematics to use on the Knit Tracer. I’m especially pleased with how the neckband came out as lately I seem to be having a bit of trouble with them.

 

I have enough of the white left to make another short sleeved top so I may do that next. Or maybe I’ll knit a cardigan, I can’t make my mind up. One thing’s for certain though, it won’t be cut and sew.

This entry was posted in cut and sew, machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Two More Finished Items

  1. Sylvia says:

    Susy, they both look wonderful. You are too hard on yourself. I hope my necklines will turn out that well when I try cut and sew. Was the top one also done on the 787? The yarn looks a bit heavy to me. I would love to see you make some videos using the Toyota KS787. You are so very talented and there are no videos on the 787 that I can find anywhere. You are truly an inspiration to me. Thank you for sharing your talents with us.

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks, Sylvia. I knitted the fabric for the brown one on the 787 in tuck stitch. It is quite a fine yarn but looks chunkier because of the stitch pattern. I might make a video or two using this machine when I’m a bit more used to it.

  2. Meg says:

    Your cut and sew looks wonderful. The white short sleeved sweater even more so. You inspire me.

  3. Hilda says:

    No, it must be the Model that is lopsided you don’t do things like that! Love them both and the neck on the white one especially. Do not like doing necks, always seem to make a mess.

    • susyranner says:

      Definitely not the model! I am really pleased with the neck on the white one, I must write myself a note reminding me how I did it as I’m bound to forget next time.

  4. Yvonne says:

    Fabulous Susan. Love the colours. They look very chic.

  5. Margaret Cummings says:

    Suzy does it again !
    Like all her work she is critical ……
    But they look fab !
    I keep on buying wool,
    But I never get time with the
    Gardening and the sun !
    And endless household chores !
    Winter is so long and cold
    I will, I must, I intend to do some knitting then !

    • susyranner says:

      Household chores? Oh yes, I remember those. Once upon a time I used to do them!

  6. anna barron says:

    Both lovely your right about neck on white one its realy good

  7. Maureen says:

    Both look great Suzy. Is the brown one a tuck stitch pattern or is it just the wool that makes it look patterned?

  8. Jewel Nelson says:

    I like both of these–they look really professional! Makes me want to throw up the sewing and move back to knitting.

  9. Morag Walker says:

    Hello Susy These are gorgeous jumpers and the cut n sew is great. Well done.

  10. Vicki in MN says:

    I really like the neckline on the brown one, did you have a pattern to follow(especially for the neckline, if so which one?

    • susyranner says:

      I used the schematics from a pattern for a hooded jumper that I found in an old Modern Knitting magazine. I hadn’t knitted enough fabric to make a hood so I just kind of bodged the neckline and managed to make it look OK.

Comments are closed.