Attaching A Ribbed Neckband

Just a short video showing how I attached a neckband using the Toyota 787.

 

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Attaching A Ribbed Neckband

  1. verna bohnert says:

    Looks so easy when you do it. You do a great job! What is your favorite kind/brand of knitting machine?

    • susyranner says:

      My favourite machine is the one I’m using at the time! I love my Bond. When I’m using the Silver Reed I love that one. I love my Singer. At the moment I’m using the Toyota and I love it. I have no affection for Brother machines but that’s only because I’ve never used one.

  2. Yvonne says:

    Excellent Susan. A really informative, clear video. Knitting two rows after the body is attached is a good idea. I normally only do 1 row but I will try the two rows next time. The calculation of the stitches is really interesting too. I will also give that a definite thumbs up. Yvonne

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks, Yvonne. The only reason I did two rows was so that the carriage would end up on the right. I prefer casting off from the right rather than the left. I don’t know if that second row makes any difference to how the neckband looks.

  3. Kim says:

    Clever

  4. tildama says:

    I truly love your videos Susan, they have helped me so much, thank you. It is just like having a teacher in my own home. I can’t learn by someone talking all the time, I need them to show me each step, which is why I have learned so much from you.

    I agree with Yvonne about the calculation of stitches and also the use of two rows – very helpful.

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks. Up to now the calculation of stitches for the neck has worked out OK for me but I’m not sure if it would work for different sizes.

  5. Carol Muller says:

    Beautiful job! Thanks so much for sharing your projects…

  6. Morag Walker says:

    Hello Susy Thank you for sharing this with us. It’s beautiful.

  7. I would suggest you knit one stockinette row after you have finished transferring the stitches of the neckband from the ribber to the main bed. This will give a better effect.

  8. annabarron says:

    just love watching you work you are so talented

  9. dixiecooks says:

    Excellent! I have never been satisfied with how neckbands turn out and yours always look so good.
    Thanks for the video. Very helpful and encouraging.

  10. Sue says:

    Another great video with excellent tips but I have to say, I was very excited to see the clear plastic you put over the ribber when just using the main bed. Such a simple idea (which I’ve never seen before) that would save the frustration of knitting (and/or skin!) getting stuck on ribber hooks. Brilliant!

    • susyranner says:

      I clip both sides of the plastic together at the bottom with a couple of plastic clamps but you could use bulldog clips. It just stops it from moving about and falling off.

Comments are closed.