Recent Knits

Here are the latest items I’ve knitted. The first one is just a plain, short sleeved top which I knitted on the Toyota 787 using Marriner 4ply acrylic.

image

I used the schematics from a free pattern site but forgot to make a note of which one so unfortunately I can’t link to it. The front and back are the same, each knitted in one piece by increasing for the sleeves. It looks a bit odd in the above photo so here it is again laid flat on the floor:

image

 

The second one was knitted on the Singer KE2400 using a cone of Bramwell 4ply acrylic which I found in the Oxfam charity shop for £3.99.

image

I created the pattern using Knitware. It has saddle shoulders which confused me a bit when I was putting it together as the instructions were a little vague but I figured it out in the end.

image

 

The third one was also knitted on the Singer KE2400 using the same pattern instructions as for the previous one and leftovers of Marriner and Bramwell 4ply. I didn’t knit a tension swatch for it, just followed the pattern and hoped for the best. Fortunately it knitted up OK and fits me perfectly.

image

I changed it slightly by knitting twice as many rows for the mock rib hems to make them a bit deeper. I decided to stop the fair isle pattern when I reached the neck shaping because I couldn’t be bothered faffing about trying to figure out how to make the pattern match when shaping the second side of the neck. I’ve never done that on this machine and didn’t want to mess it up on my first attempt. I could have done a cut and sew neckline but decided just to use the lilac and knit it plain. The back of the jumper is plain lilac. I wish I’d had enough of the lilac left for the sleeves but as I said, I was using up the leftovers so had to make do with the grey. I think it turned out alright though, I don’t think the colours clash.

 

I will put the Knitware pattern for the saddle shoulder jumper in my next post but it is only written in one size (as all of my patterns are ) so if you’re not a size 36″ bust it will be of no use to you. However, if you are a Knitware user you can use your own measurements and tension readings to re-create the pattern using the same style elements that I used.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Recent Knits

  1. ann nunnery says:

    Susie – the colours do not clash at all – well done

  2. angela says:

    I love this one!!! the stripes and the different colors really work. I’m still waiting for my husband to help me set up the Knitware on my PC, its the trial version which is fine but I have windows 10 and the instructions are very confusing to me.

    • Maureen says:

      Good luck with that, I hope you can get it to work. I tried it many time and couldn’t get it. I ended up buying an old computer from a pawn shop just to run knitware on.

      • angela says:

        That’s not good news, I heard some people had success with putting it up on the newer windows, I’ll keep trying……

        • Maureen says:

          Would appreciate if you would reply on here if you can get it to work on Windows 10. I tried Windows 7 many times and it wouldn’t take. If you can get it to work on 10 I will update my 7 to 10 and try again. Meanwhile I have it running on an old 32bit machine running Windows XP. Thanks.

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks, Angela. Sorry I can’t help with your Knitware problem, I’m running it on my Windows Vista laptop.

  3. Morag Walker says:

    Hi susy Thank you for sharing these lovely jumpers with us. Unfortunately I bought the Knitware program but can’t get it to work and now they out of business. Never mind. Do you know how to do moss stitch on the machine. Is there a punchcard I could use? I saw a nice pattern but couldn’t work it out? Maybe one day. Best wishes MoragW

    • susyranner says:

      I’m not sure but I think Knitmaster punchcard number 1 set on tuck will give you a moss stitch effect.

    • MJaureen says:

      Morag, the program will still run if you can get it downloaded. It was originally made for a 32bit system and runs great on Windows XP. I ended up buying an old PC just for it. If you bought it then you have the code. The only difference I could see when I entered my code was that I could save my patterns, which is useful but not essential if you print them up. Hope you can get it working. Seems it works good on Vista too. It is a very useful program.

  4. Maureen says:

    I love your use of stripes in your knitting.

  5. Ann Poprdan says:

    Very nice Suzy, You have been very busy. I am trying to get a waistcoat done but haven’t got very far yet. Where does the time go.

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks, Ann. I too would like to know where the time goes, the months are just flying by!

  6. Yvonne says:

    Great Susan. The fairisle looks really nice and a great idea to get rid of left over yarns.Projects and ideas for the winter.Take care Yvonne.

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks, Yvonne. I’m thinking of doing a bit of intarsia next, I don’t do that very often so I will probably invent some new swear words.

  7. Jenny says:

    Lovely work as usual, I like them both the striped/fairisle one is a super one off design, well done.

  8. Heike says:

    Beautiful garments as always, Susan!!

  9. carpar34@bigpond.com.au says:

    Susan all of the jumpers are beautiful but I especially love the short sleeved blue one perfect for our climate here and I have I think enough 4 ply textured cotton to do a couple – thank you will try and gauge how many to cast on from the picture!!
    Cara Sydney Australia.

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks, Cara. When I knitted the short sleeved top I had to use all the needles when I increased for the sleeves. Wish I could remember where I found the pattern!

  10. Jewel Nelson says:

    Really nice! Gives me courage to try saddle shoulders.

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks, Jewel. The saddle shoulders were easy enough to knit, it was just figuring out how to join them that had me stumped for a while.

  11. Sheryl says:

    Love all 3 of them. You’re nice & slim so they will look good on you. Unfortunately for me I have gained a few pounds & refuse to make anything for myself until I lose them. LOL

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks, Sheryl. My job means I keep the weight off – half hour walk to work, three hours on my feet cleaning then a half hour walk home. I’ve never been so fit!

  12. Margaret CUMMINGS ~ DONINGTON (Lincolnshire) M.K,. Club says:

    love the first short sleeve jumper with the shapped sleeves.
    Well, I love them all as usual your work is so pleasing.
    Margaret in wet, damp, Lincolnshire UK

Comments are closed.