Jumper With Intarsia Star

IMG_0231

I found ten balls of light blue yarn in a charity shop for £2. I thought they were 50g balls so there would have been enough to make a jumper for me but when I got them home I realised they were only 20g balls, enough for the back and front of a jumper so I would have to make the sleeves using leftovers.

A few months ago a lady called Anne very kindly gave me an intarsia yarn brake so I decided I would try it out. I found some instructions online and searched for an intarsia chart to use. I decided I wanted to put a white star on the front of the jumper and found this one.

I knitted the back first, it was done on the Silver Reed SK280 using the Knit Radar. Once I knew how many rows there were up to the armholes I was able to work out when to place the chart when I knitted the front. I found it very easy to thread up and use the yarn brake and it made it easier to knit each row because I didn’t have to keep hold of all the ends as I moved the intarsia carriage along.

I made a couple of mistakes when I was following the chart but they aren’t really noticable so nobody would know. Here is a closer view of the star:

IMG_0233-0
For the sleeves I just used what I had left over. After I’d knitted them I thought the lilac looked out of place, it didn’t seem to fit in with the rest of the colours very well so I decided to add some to the neckband thinking it would kind of pull the colours together. I’m not sure if that worked too well but it is what it is and I don’t think it looks too bad.

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Jumper With Intarsia Star

  1. Mary Adams says:

    Nice job! You didn’t really well determining solutions for what you had to work with! Thank you for sharing!

  2. Carol Ann Emerick says:

    Nice job! I like the lilac. Putting it in the neckband was a great idea.

  3. Yvonne says:

    Hi Susan, It looks great and what a way to use up those leftovers.I didn’t see the detail on the neckline on Facebook. Great idea.Take care Yvonne

  4. Jewel Nelson says:

    Nice–gives me ideas for those little balls I think are enough and are not.

  5. mathom says:

    Great work as always. I certainly can’t see any mistakes in the star.

  6. anne says:

    Susan, your ingenuity never ceases to amaze me. So glad that you were able to put the yarn brake to such good use. Much better than it being left at the back of the cupboard. Kindest regards Anne

  7. Ann Poprdan says:

    Hi Suzy, I love your jumper. Is there no end to your ingenuity. Such a clever idea and you’ve cut down on the bits and bobs in your yarn store.

  8. Morag Walker says:

    Hi Susy I think it works very well. It’s lovely thank you for sharing this with us. What tension did you use. I wanted to try out a jumper but can’t get the tension correct. Morag W

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks, Morag. The yarn is somewhere between a 4ply and Double Knitting weight. I knitted it at T8 on the Silver Reed SK280 standard gauge machine.

  9. Beverly says:

    Thanks for sharing. Viewing your finished projects gives me inspiration.

  10. annabarron says:

    nice work as usual susy

  11. Jenny says:

    Excellent work as usual, colours go really well together.

  12. leenrue says:

    I love your jumper and the colors I think are great some day I will be able to make a great jumper like that. just wonderful keep up the good work it helps me to knit more. Mary

  13. Steelbreeze says:

    I think it all works really well.

  14. Maureen says:

    Great job on the intarsia. Again, love your use of stripes.

  15. MeRabbithash says:

    That is soo cute!! Love the color work/intarsia work!

Comments are closed.