Stripes And Tuck Stitch


I saw a jumper on a website, I think it could have been Bon Prix. It was striped and it appeared to be knitted with a fancy stitch pattern. I looked closely at it and came to the conclusion that maybe it wasn’t a stitch pattern but some kind of uneven yarn. Here is a cropped section of the photo, what do you think?


Anyway, this put the idea into my head to knit a striped jumper with a ‘fancy’ stitch pattern. My thought was to do it in tuck stitch using the plain side as the right side so I tried card 3 from the basic Silver Reed set.


I used Marriner 4ply and knitted the swatch at T10. When I knitted the swatch I knitted 30 rows in navy and 30 rows in white which meant The colour change was in the middle of a pattern repeat. However, when I knitted the actual jumper I did 32 rows of each colour (4 pattern repeats) which is what gives the stripes the wavy appearance. I didn’t realise this was going to happen so it came out looking better than I had expected. In the swatch the stripes were straight, not wavy.

The seams were a bit of a nightmare to sew up because of the tuck stitches but I got there eventually.


Apparently stripes are in this Spring so for once I’m ‘trendy’. (Do people still say “trendy” or am I showing my age now?)

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

56 Responses to Stripes And Tuck Stitch

  1. Colleen Weiss says:

    Great looking sweater and the tuck stitches really add to the design. Yes trendy can still be used!

  2. Lovely, looks so comfy. Fantastic job putting it together. How I hate that step. Now if I could just figure out how to make a top down sweater on a machine, no seams, that would be perfect.

    • susyranner says:

      I’ve made a raglan jumper and did sew as you go but still had to sew up the sleeve seams. That probably doesn’t help you at all!

  3. Mary Ann McNaull says:

    Love love it.

    Mary Ann

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  4. HIlda says:

    Yes, it looks like an uneven yarn. Yours looks much better really good job. H

  5. Ann Poprdan says:

    As regards trendy Suzy, I would say it’s a bit of both. Your jumper is very striking and beautifully knitted, as always. Best wishes.

  6. masion65 says:

    It looks like the yarn itself is krinkly, but I like your tuck version also. Very pretty. Florence Levy

  7. anna barron says:

    Lovely work as usual so talented

  8. Sherry Hogan says:

    Oh, you did such a great job. I did a striped sweater in these couloirs a couple of weeks ago, in a tuck stitch and I hand manipulated the stitches. I did 20 rows per colour, but then found it did not match the tuck changes . Should have did mor epractice beforehand! I used the wrong side as the show side, and although it looks nice, the sewing the seams together was a real pain too! P.s. I like yours a lot better! I think I will try again. I did. I e in a worsted weight on the SK860. Whic machine do you use?

  9. Heike Hacker says:

    What a gorgeous sweater; beautiful work as usual. You are a great inspiration to us fellow machine knitters!!

  10. Pete says:

    Exquisite. So professional. WOW.

  11. janecurrah says:

    That looks great!

  12. Margaret Cummings says:

    You enthuse me to start something on my machine !
    I always like your jumpers ……
    Since having my Cartridge Repair on my right arm, I have been loath to put the repair to the test.
    Your knitting emails always makes me want to just knit !!!!
    Thanks for sharing, looking longingly at my machine ! !

    • susyranner says:

      I hope you are able to start knitting again soon. Are you not tempted to use your machine left-handed?

  13. Karen says:

    Looks great Suzy!

  14. Annette sullivan says:

    Absolutely gorgeous, well done 👍 😉

  15. It’s beautiful. The patterned stitch makes it unique and enhances the stripes. Thanks.

  16. Jenny says:

    WOW !!!!!!!!!!!!! brilliant very clever well done looks perfect

  17. Mac says:

    very nice

  18. Morag Walker says:

    Hi Susy I think it’s really gorgeous and what a lovely job. Well done.

  19. Elaine Howell says:

    Hi Susy. This is beautiful. I like your version best. The matching of the stripes is perfect. Did you have a written pattern for this or did you use knit radar? I really long to be able to knit such professional looking garments. Thank you for sharing this project with us

    • susyranner says:

      I used Kniware to create the pattern instructions. Then I changed the amount of rows to knit up to the armhole shaping on both the body and the sleeves so that I would start a new stripe there and would be certain they would all match. As it turned out, the sleeves are exactly the same length as the body.

  20. Shirley Dorsey says:

    Oh Susan, that is beautiful. I like yours SO very much better than the one that inspired you. You do such excellent work & your seams are perfect too. Many thanks for sharing.

  21. Yvonne says:

    Really lovely Susan. Classic stripes and fresh colours. Inspiration for the next sweater.Hope you are keeping well.

  22. Anne says:

    Great sweater and beautifully made Susan. Kindest regards Anne

  23. tildama says:

    Wow!!! (do people still say this as well – yes I do I’m old) This is my absolutely favourite Susan – navy and white stripes, so nautical, cool and clean looking. And the scalloping effect, (which you obviously meant to do *cough *cough) looks amazing! Your work is simply fabulous! Regards, Kerist

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks, Kerist. I still say “wow”, I also still say “mega” – does anyone else?!

  24. steelbreeze says:

    Love it! The one that inspired you just looks like some sort of fancy yarn knitted on a wide gauge – eg a boucle or a hairy yarn that won’t slide. Yours is far more interesting! 🙂

  25. Jewel Nelson says:

    That’s really lovely! The Bon Prix example really does look like it is lumpy kind of yarn. But I like your jumper a lot better, it has more texture. I always wondered what I would use that card for, but I really like that stripe…. thank you again for sharing.

  26. Catherine says:

    I love stripes Susan and this is just beautiful. I got to have a go at this pattern. Thanks so much for the inspiration you’ve give me. 😀

    Cathy

  27. Beautiful work, once again :). Love the uniqueness of the wavy stripes.

  28. verna says:

    I just love your work, you are getting better and better! I love the wavy stripe, its beautiful.

Comments are closed.