Oops!

Sorry if you saw a strange post appear here briefly a few minutes ago, it wasn’t meant for this blog but the ‘wonderful’ wordpress app decided to publish it here instead of where it was meant to go. I deleted it as soon as I realised what had happened.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in Misc. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Oops!

  1. Norma Bond says:

    Always happy to hear anything from you, you are a legend in the KM world 🙂

  2. leenrue says:

    you keep writing and I will keep reading love to hear what you have to say.
    Mary

  3. anne says:

    I have followed your machine knitting blog for many years and have found you to be an inspiration, I look at the pile of discarded attempts which clutter the floor when I have tried something new and then think of the videos you made as you worked through instruction manuals. Yes, you and have experienced utter frustration when things do not go according to plan, but you still perservere and succeed in knitting some wonderful items. I think many an older machine has been saved from being sent to the tip because of your enthusiasm. It’s preferable read one interesting entry from you than some of the inane and mundane comments some bloggers feel compelled to write. So when ever you write, be it monthly or more infrequently you can be sure your blog followers are very appreciative. Kindest regards Anne

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks, Anne. Hopefully I’ll find some inspiration in those magazines (if I can get to them). The fact that I can’t use my machines is making me want to use them even more now!

  4. anne says:

    I have just finished a jumper with a ballet neck, using the plating atttachment for the first time ever. I was amazed at just how easy it was to knit. I had been given a few cones of pale pink lambs wool and no matter how much I washed the tension square using ‘Woolite’ and soaking it in fabric conditioner, it still itched like blazes. So I had a ‘Susy Ranner’ moment ‘nothing ventured, nothing gained’ and tried plating. I used a fine ply cotton type yarn in a richer pink for the plating and it worked! One lovelly jumper totally itch free – yippee. I hope to try ‘plated tuck stitch’ and perhaps use up some of my stash of fine ply yarns .kindest regards Anne

    • susyranner says:

      I have yet to try plating, I don’t even know if I can do it on any of my machines.
      When you said you had a susyranner moment I thought you were going to say you flung it across the room in temper!

      • anne says:

        You can do plating on your Silver Reed knitting machine and probably your Knitmaster with the punchcards. I did not use my Silver Reed Sk280 machine as I resurrected my Brother 950i and used that. With Brother machines there is a small plating attachment that gets fitted onto the carriage so that the yarns are separated. The knitting looks really good with one coloured yarn on one side and a different colour on the other side. When you are able to get into your knitting room and go through the knitting manuals it might be interesting to see what other machines are capable of plating.

  5. Jewel Nelson says:

    I giggled! Sorry, I read the random odd post. Ditto my work. Sigh

Comments are closed.