WordPress Has Done It Again

So, I was fiddling about with my other blog, thinking of making it public again and decided to change its theme. I viewed the live demo of it and thought “yes, I’ll use that one” so pressed ‘activate’. Then WordPress only went and bloody activated it on this blog didn’t it. I have absolutely no idea which theme was on here before WordPress so ‘helpfully’ changed it for me and I haven’t got the time now to mess about with it as I’m going to work shortly.

So when I do eventually find the time to sort it out I will have to hope that all the sidebar links are still there somewhere. Bloody WordPress!

I hadn’t posted on here in over a year and had hoped that when I eventually did post again it wouldn’t be to say that WordPress had let me down once again.

Until I manage to get it back to how it was before, you might find it acting a bit strangely and looking a lot different. Don’t panic, I will fix it eventually but for now I’m going to go and shout and swear and stomp about until I calm down and get it out of my system.

Thanks for nothing, WordPress.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in Misc. Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to WordPress Has Done It Again

  1. Terri Jones says:

    Welcome back Susy – we’ve all missed you!! Hope you get sorted soon
    🙂 Terri

  2. Kitty says:

    But we do not require the swearing

  3. Hello Susy,

    If you have a lot of themes installed it will take more time, but ultimately you can try each one and see which one it was. The preview option might make this easier. Your previous work configuring the sidebars, etc, should still be there. When you’ve got it sorted out then delete any of the themes you aren’t using as this will make updates easier and more secure, as well as prevent this sort of angst.

    Love, love, love your machine knitting and what you share.

    Connie
    Boise, ID, USA

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks Connie. Luckily the first theme I tried seems to be the one that I had originally been using and yes, all the sidebar links were still there (thank goodness).

  4. Anne Cain says:

    Hi Susy It’s so good to have you back. You have been missed and I trust that all is well with you and yours.

  5. Rhonda says:

    I’m glad to hear from you again!

  6. Alysha McDonald says:

    So glad are back. You are a much needed asset to the MK community!!!

  7. Lynell Withers says:

    Glad you are back! So am I. The new house will have septic next week and I will shortly have a space to set up my knitting loom again. So looking forward to it. You are an inspiration. Have a great day. Breathe through the aggro.

    • susyranner says:

      I bet you’ll be chuffed to bits when you get to use your knitting loom. I have calmed down now, all is well!

  8. Have missed you and your posts. Hope you can get it up and running again and look forward to seeing what you have been knitting.

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks Maureen. Everything seems to be back to normal now on the blog. I have yet to do any knitting but Bank Holiday Monday is coming so that might be the day.

  9. Morag Walker says:

    Hello Susy Don’t worry about it. We can all shout about it if it makes us feel better. Best wishes

  10. was just wondering what had happened to you the other day when we were cycling in Darlo

    • susyranner says:

      I didn’t intend to have such a long break from it all, it just kind of happened. The last thing I knitted was a penguin from the toy magazine that you kindly gave me. It’s knitted but not sewn up. I really should do it.

  11. Yvonne says:

    So pleased to get your post Susan I think you have been having time out from MK as I have!! Have a good rant, sort your WordPress out and inspire us!!

    • susyranner says:

      I had a rant and sorted the blog out, don’t know about inspiring you – I’ll have to work on that one a bit longer (I need to inspire myself first).

  12. Sherry Hogan says:

    Oh I’m so glad you’re back. I had checked a few times and wondered if something happened to you. So glad it is just a blog issue and that you are fine!

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks Sherry, nothing happened to me apart from lack of motivation but now I’m ready to finish off the things I started knitting last year. I will probably have to consult the instruction books to remind me what to do.

  13. Maggi Bloice says:

    Susy you have my sympathies – I still tear my hair out keeping mine going and your swear words are mild compared to mine. Good to have you back, up keeping these websites is a full time job.

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks Maggi. I don’t know what it is with WordPress.com but there seems to be two styles of dashboard and you start off on one but somehow end up on the other one. However, I do know that the template change should have been applied to the other blog not this one as I checked before I activated it. That is why I was so annoyed. Never mind, it’s fixed now!

  14. Margaret Cummings says:

    Suzie ! Have so missed you…….looked for you and couldn’t find any new posts. Pleased you are ok
    Margaret Cummings

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks Margaret. I just had no motivation and the weeks and months passed by and before I knew it more than a year had passed. Those poor, neglected knitting machines.

  15. Heike Hacker says:

    Susan, I am glad you are back with your blog and that you found a job!!

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks Heike. I didn’t intend for my first post after all this time to be a bad tempered rant but there you go.

  16. Jewel K Nelson says:

    My husband did the exact same thing. Good luck, it will be an amusing bit in a test, I hope

  17. Anna barron says:

    Glad your back

Comments are closed.