Knitting

A year ago I started knitting a jumper on the Silver Reed SK280. I got as far as knitting the back. Today I decided to knit the front. I thought I might have to consult the instruction manuals to remind me what to do but surprisingly I didn’t need to. I did have a slight hiccup when I cast on using the ribber, I forgot to attach the cast on comb and weights. I realised after I’d done the second row so I just snapped the wool, pulled it off and started again.

After that everything went smoothly.

When I’d finished knitting the front I put it on the floor next to the back. Here they are:

The front is on the left, the back is on the right.

“Oh dear” I said to myself, “what a thing to happen” (or words to that effect).

I had obviously used the wrong starting line on the Knit Radar pattern. So I will pull it out down to just before the armhole shaping and re-knit it to match the back. Not today though.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

 

 

This entry was posted in Misc. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Knitting

  1. Margaret Danks says:

    Haha been there done that. Not as yesterday finished the jumper x

  2. lol, me too, been there and done that, but I am not so good at picking up stitches so I just undo it all and start again.

    • susyranner says:

      I managed to pick up the stitches and re knit it without any problems, thank goodness.

  3. Julie says:

    You will rip that back in no time and knit it back up again. It looks a good match considering you knit the other piece over a year ago. I know you have to be in the mood and it will fly off the needles.
    Are you sure you actually said ‘oh dear’ if you did you are a calmer person than I am.
    My favourite curse words are sh*t sh*t sh*t usually followed closely by ‘sod it’ this usually makes me feel a lot better.

    Nice to see you back Susan have missed your blogs and was really happy when this popped up in my mailbox today.
    Julie

    • susyranner says:

      What I actually said was “oh, b*ll*cks.” Then I walked away. It’s all fixed now though.

  4. Barbara Boag says:

    I love all your youtube videos. I have acquired knitting machines but as yet have not completed a single garment. I hope you get to the sleeves before too long! Barbara

    • susyranner says:

      Hopefully I’ll get the sleeves done this week but I need a little help as you’ll see in my next post.

  5. Margaret Cummings, Donington (Lincs) Machine Knitting Club says:

    I am dreading picking up my Machine Knitting again, it will be two years this October since I knitted the last jumper ! Main reason, I purchased a Brother 970, and I don’t like ti. Too much computer, and four moves instead of one to alter the knitting row. So, I got a 950i and I can still use DAK, perhaps one day ! If you see a 970 for sale it will be mine, and my 950 which has been replaced with the 950i. I’ve got to knit now haven’t I ?
    Nice to see you back Susan, I have so missed you.

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks Margaret. I’ve never used a Brother, let alone an electric machine. I think I’ll stick with what I’ve got for now.

  6. Mary says:

    I’m impressed! I am so intimidated by my LK150!!! LOL!! Send me some of your courage!!

    • susyranner says:

      Don’t be intimidated by it. If it starts setting its lip up at you just tell it off, shout at it, swear at it but be firm with it and let it know that you are in charge and you make the rules. It will soon get the message and start behaving itself.

  7. carpar34@bigpond.com.au says:

    Delighted you are back Susan – wont take you long to re do and very fresh and nautcal looking. About to tackle your sleevless top but in solid colour cotton as have not enough to do a sleeved top. Many crises with machines – decided to clean them all at one time huge mistake now in a mess cant get sponge bars to go back in all the way and hundreds of needles trying to find out which machine they are for and wondering if some of them might be interchangeable. A friend in Calif mailed me massive amount of brand new ones for the Empisal would these fit any other machine?? – ‘sod it”used here very often
    Machines in danger are 321 Singer and Ribber – Empisal – 2 Lemair Helvitia – so sticking to Bond and KX350 for the present, woe is me!!
    Cheers Cara from OZ.

    • susyranner says:

      Oh no, what a nightmare! I don’t know if any of the needles would be interchangeable so I can’t help you with that. I think I would be saying more than “sod it.” Good luck, I hope you get it sorted.

  8. Kate Pym says:

    I see that you have embraced the latest fashion, jumpers, tops and dresses are all longer at the back this season.

    Well done!

    I am trying to knit a pair of matching socks. “Matching” being the operative word.

    Kate

    ________________________________

    • susyranner says:

      I know, I’m so fashionable! (Ha ha! Not.)
      Matching socks don’t matter, who sees them anyway when you’re wearing them?

  9. Morag Walker says:

    Hi Susy
    Why not today – before you forget what to do again. I have had an awful time trying to get back to my knitting. No confidence but I met the paramedics today and asked if I could do trauma teddies for them and they overjoyed that I would do that for THEM. So I have done one on machine and am now stuffing it and putting it’s face on. I’m over the moon!!. Done something right for a change!! YES…

    • susyranner says:

      The teddies will give you a big confidence boost then the sky’s the limit!
      I re knitted the front today and surprisingly didn’t manage to make any more mistakes. Makes a change for me!

  10. Helen says:

    Can I ask what you have been doing in the year between knitting the back and the front. I’m getting very good at frogging back my work and then starting something completely different just need to actually finish something lol

    • susyranner says:

      In the year between knitting the back and the front I spent way too much time messing about on the ipad. When I say messing about I mean playing games. We spent some time decorating and having building work done, then more decorating. To be honest I just couldn’t be bothered to do any knitting. I would go up to the back bedroom where the machines are, look at the back of the jumper that was on the table then walk straight back out again. I didn’t try to force myself to do finish it, I knew I would want to do it eventually!

Comments are closed.