Sewing Up

All the parts of my jumper are knitted and I’m in the middle of doing the bit that I dislike the most – sewing it up.

IMG_0352

Since taking the photo I’ve sewn in the second sleeve, sewn up one side seam and half of one sleeve seam. I have to keep stopping because my hands keep cramping up (it’s an age thing). I’ll get there eventually. Once I’ve finished it I’ll post a photo.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Sewing Up

  1. Tricofeli says:

    Merci beaucoup et félicitations. C’est un très joli pull.

  2. Julie says:

    It looks lovely Susan
    You made a really good choice with the sleeves and I can’t wait to see it finished. Julie

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks Julie. It was my blog visitors who chose the sleeves for me but I have to agree, I think it was the right choice.

  3. Barbara Boag says:

    I see you decided to match the stripes. Looks great – well done.

    • susyranner says:

      Thank you. Matching the stripes was a pure fluke, I hadn’t planned it. I realised when I was at the armhole shaping that if I knitted a couple more rows of light blue it would match so that’s what I did.

  4. Marge Reppenhagen says:

    susyranner-Your top is very. very nice.

  5. Connie Home says:

    How did you come to see this article, Sara?

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  6. love the matching stripes. looks good

  7. carpar34@bigpond.com.au says:

    Really lovely Susy and the neck looks perfect will be lovely to wear in your the Autumn and Winter 3rd day of Spring here in OZ.so packed away a lot of sweaters and jackets now needles will be flying for Spring /Summer Tops.
    Cheers Cara.

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks Cara. I don’t even want to think about Autumn and Winter – why can’t it just be Summer all year long?

  8. Shari says:

    Another roaring success. Love it and well done my friend.

  9. Tanya says:

    Thanks for sharing Susy! Very much appreciated, my machine is exactly the same model.
    Being a learner I seem to be struggling to get a tighter after the steaming? How do you get over this problem?

  10. Virginia says:

    Hi Susy, nice to hear from you again. As for sewing up, once it becomes a burden for me, I think I will invest in a linker. lol. Beautiful work as ever.

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks Virginia. I used to have a linker but I sold it as I didn’t really get on very well with it. It wasn’t good for me, it stressed me out and raised my blood pressure!

  11. Shirley Dorsey says:

    Lovely. So very nice to see you posting again. Welcome back.

  12. Margaret Cummings, Donington (Lincs) Machine Knitting Club says:

    Susan, This is why I love my Hauge Liniker for sewing up the seams.
    I have such bad problems with cramps in my hands whilst sewing up otherwise.

    • susyranner says:

      I used to have a Hague linker but I didn’t get on very well with it so I sold it. I also had a linker that you use on the knitting machine and didn’t like that much either. I hope my hands don’t get any worse than they are now.

Comments are closed.