Letting Things Go

I may regret this but here goes.

I have been having a really good think about this and have come to the conclusion that I have far too much knitting machine “stuff.”

However, I don’t really want to put things on ebay and I don’t have the packaging (or the inclination) to send things by courier. So, if anyone would like any of the things I am letting go you would need to collect them and my location in the UK isn’t the most convenient as I live all the way up in the north east.

I was very kindly given by Karen a fantastic Toyota 787. It is a wonderful machine (the dog’s dangly bits) but I’ve hardly used it. Each time I have used it I’ve forgotten how to and have to re-learn what to do. I always end up back on the Silver Reed because it’s the same as the Knitmaster – the first metal bed machine I had – and I can get going with that straight away (most of the time) without having to sit with the manual. The Toyota deserves to be used, not just sitting there idle covered by a sheet. So I’m letting it go. There is a ribber with it and a Knit Tracer. I bought a colour changer for it which I’ve never even had out of the box. To be honest I don’t even know if it’s the right one for that machine. There is a lace carriage but I don’t know if it’s working. I want someone to have this machine, someone who knows how to use a machine and will make good use of it.

Stored under the bed I have a Knitmaster 700. The last time I used it (goodness knows how long ago) it was working. However, I modified the carriage slightly. I thought I could use it on another Knitmaster machine but needed to remove the row counter tripper. I can’t remember if it worked on the other Knitmaster or if I ever replaced the tripper – I haven’t opened it up to have a look.

I have a Knitmaster 302 with a ribber. You can see this machine in action in some of my videos. Last time I used it, it was working OK.

I have a Toyota 510 which is a very basic machine and a Singer KE-1200 which has a dented case. It knits plain OK but there’s a problem with the patterning.

I also have a vintage Orion double bed machine which I cleaned up and got working but never gets used, it just stays under the bed with the rest of them.

I have a case containing (if I remember correctly) two Knitmaster 4500 needlebeds with no needles and a Ribmaster, again with no needles. I would have to get them out and check but I’m pretty sure they are all needle-less.

Then there’s another case full of bits of machines – spare carriages, sinker plates, needles etc. I can’t remember which machines all of them came from, I’ve been keeping them as spares “just in case.”

On top of that I have accessories from my machines that didn’t get put back in the appropriate places and now I don’t know which machines they belong to. My head’s in bits trying to sort this lot out!

I really feel the time has come now to be honest with myself and admit that I won’t use all these machines that I’ve been hoarding. I am keeping my Silver Reed, Singer 2400, Knitmaster 4500 and of course my Bond – I would never part with that. All the machines under the bed are just collecting dust. I pulled them all out a few weeks ago, dusted them off, Hoovered under the bed then put them all back again. What’s the point of that? They need to go. If nobody wants them I’ll ask one of the charity shops if they want to take them. If none of the charity shops want them then I’ll just give them to the rag and bone man which would break my heart to do but they need to go. I’m giving it until the end of the year.

I think some time this week I might take a few photos of everything that I’m letting go of. If anyone wants anything please let me know but like I said, you would have to collect it.

My email address is susanranson64[at]aol[dot]com (replace the words in brackets with the appropriate symbols).

Thanks for reading all the way to the end!

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Letting Things Go

  1. 9bythebeach says:

    Oh Susan how I hear you.  I am glad I am in Canada and can’t be tempted as I need to do the same thing and just keep my beloved.  Judie☺

    Sent from my Samsung device over Bell’s LTE network.

  2. Anne Cain says:

    Hi Susy I went through the same ‘sort out’ a few years ago.Some items went to friends then I contacted a Charity called ‘Tools with a Mission’. They came and took some knitting machines, 2 manual typewriters and dressmaking materials.Other items they are looking for are Sewing Machines, Garden and Building/Carpentry tools,etc After doing any necessary servicing/repairs the donated items are shipped abroad to Third World countries so folk there can earn a living and not be reliant on aid .Their website http://www.twam.uk gives further details. Kindest regards

    • susyranner says:

      Was that when you sent me the knit copy for the Singer and the other bits and pieces? Thanks for the website, I have saved the link in case I need it, it looks like a very good cause.

      • Anne Cain says:

        Yes Susy, that was when I was doing one of my ‘sort outs. I can’t say that my Knitting and Sewing room is more spacious – it’s not. There is another Charity which is glad to accept donations their website is http://www.workaid.org though I have not donated to them as yet.

  3. Cris White says:

    I would love your 302 with ribber. Can I pay you to send it to me in the states?

  4. Yvonne says:

    Dear Susan, I understand how you feel as I am planning in late autumn to do exactly the same. Machine knitting was for me like an addiction and that for years. Not anymore and am looking forward to sorting out.You really were the greatest help. Thank you.

    • susyranner says:

      Are you just scaling back on your machines or are you giving it up completely? That would be a shame.

      • Yvonne says:

        Oh no I will keep 2 machines and get rid of the others and the gadgets I have yet to use. A general sort out keeping my standard and chunky and,of course, the knit master I have at my dad s!!

  5. nitngunki says:

    Hi, I have a 787 and have been searching for a long time for a K 80 Simulknit attachment for it, if you happen to have one I would pay good money for it and it is very small to ship to Canada. If you have one not in a box it is just like the metal part which attaches to the carriage, but instead of just one opening for the yarn to go through it has two, side by side. I could try to send you a photo if you are interested. Thank you, Norma Bond ( also have too much knitting machine “stuff”

    • susyranner says:

      Hi Norma. Unfortunately I don’t have the Simulknit, that was one of the things I didn’t manage to get hold of when I was looking for accessories for the machine.

  6. Kathleen Leslie says:

    Susan
    I’m in the north East as well and I’m interested in your Toyota combo.
    What sort of price are you looking for?
    Katy Leslie
    My email is all lower case and no spaces in the name katy sug at em ess en dot com

  7. Karen Heggs says:

    I know the feeling Susan. I think at the time I gave you the Toyota you had a bad experience with a courier and yours arrived damaged. This Toyota sat under my bed too and as you say it’s a shame not to be used! So go on someone pick up a cracking machine, let it go to a good home and give Susan some space! 😁

    • susyranner says:

      The good news is that the Toyota will be going to a good home at the weekend, the others are yet to be claimed.

  8. Morag Walker says:

    Hi Susy You could always put the unclaimed machines in an advert for machines for Africa. I don’t know they would pick up from you but they would be going to a good home. Sorry I know how to feel about getting rid of good machines. Best wishes.

    • susyranner says:

      That’s probably what I’ll end up doing, it’s better than giving them to the rag and bone man.

  9. Pingback: Letting Things Go–My Knitting Machines and Me: | By the Mighty Mumford

  10. Kelli Mederich says:

    Thank you for doing that! Because of kind people like you I have been able to put machines in my middle school classroom and taught numerous students to both hand and machine knit. You are a blessing!!

    Kelli Mederich
    NW Wisconsin, USA

Comments are closed.