A Quick Update

I bought 600g of Marriners Twister DK not really knowing what I was going to make with it. I knitted up a tension swatch on the Silver Reed SK280 at T9.

I thought about maybe knitting a jumper with a shawl collar to keep me warm in the Winter but changed my mind. Then I remembered I have a Knit Radar pattern that I’ve never used, I’m not even sure where I got it from. It must have been bundled with magazines or pattern books from one of the many Ebay purchases I have made over the years.

Now don’t laugh at it, I know the drawings are way out of proportion! What’s with those tiny heads? Anyway, I am knitting item no.3 only I’m putting a zip in rather than buttons. I probably didn’t buy enough wool to make the pockets as there is very little left and I have yet to knit the collar. I may not knit a collar, I may just do a neckband. I found a zip in my sewing box that is the exact length and it’s navy blue so it will be OK. I have no idea why I originally bought this zip, it was probably for some abandonned project years ago.

I knitted the back, both fronts and one sleeve yesterday and today I have knitted the second sleeve. I won’t be doing any more today as I did that thing that us machine knitters do from time to time. You know, that thing where you rake your finger over a needle hook and gouge a chunk of skin out of your finger end and there’s blood and pain. Oh how I laughed. I was just finisheng casting off the sleeve.

After I’d put a plaster on my finger I decided to take that as signal to call it a day. I will post another update when there’s more to show you.

Talk to you later,

Susan.

This entry was posted in machine knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to A Quick Update

  1. Margaret Cummings, Donington (Lincs) Machine Knitting Club says:

    Oh you do make me laugh Susan.
    I know somebody just like you ~ me !

  2. britlady52 says:

    I love Marriner yarn. It’s stable, washes well, it’s British and reasonably priced. That’s a lovely colour too.

  3. Anne Cain says:

    Hi Susan nice wool and I do like the design of the jacket, They say fashion is never new, just a reinvention of things from the past. So you are probably right ‘on trend’ for the Autumn/Winter collections that are now filling the rails in the department stores. Looking forward to seeing the finished item. Kindest regards

    • susyranner says:

      It does seem to have knitted up a bit long though, it doesn’t look long in the drawing!

  4. Morag Walker says:

    Oh wow well done Susy you did well not to have an accident before THAT. I can’t wait to see what it’s like. The yarn look lovely. I bought some at boundary Mill last week when we were on our annual trip down south to Yarndale. Had a great time. I met a lady who used to live in Dundee!!

    • susyranner says:

      It must sound funny to most people to hear somewhere in Yorkshire being referred to as down south! The thing is, most places are down south for us.

  5. Is the SK 280 a standard gauge machine? Was it difficult to knit double knit on it? Did you use every needle or every other needle? Love how it looks when knitted up, can’t wait to see the finished jacket.

    • susyranner says:

      Yes, it is a standard gauge. I used every needle and it was just a little bit stiff pushing the carriage. Now that I’ve knitted it I think it might have been better at T10.

  6. Rhonda says:

    Love the color. Hope your finger is better! I know how that hurts. I can wait to see your finished jacket.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    • susyranner says:

      Thanks Rhonda. It might not be finished until the weekend but I’m going to try to get it done sooner.

  7. I’m so sorry you raked your finger! Ouchie!! Love that yarn and I can’t wait to see the finished sweater.

    • susyranner says:

      I like the different blues in it but there’s another one that looks like lilacs and pinks – I might have to buy some of that too.

  8. Ann says:

    Ouch!!

  9. Jayne Helwig says:

    Sorry you injured your finger. You could do the rest of your sweater in a contrasting color to give it a little bit of jazz.

  10. Karen Heggs says:

    Looking forward to seeing it Susy!

  11. I’m excited to see when it’s finished! Also, sorry about your finger – i’ve done that a few times too 😦

    • susyranner says:

      Hopefully I’ll have it finished by Sunday evening. My finger is healing up nicely, just stings a bit if I catch it in the wrong place.

Comments are closed.